We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Wexford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value Hotel”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in August 2013. Great central location. It was great value for the peak season with some guesthouses charging double the amount. The rooms were clean and very spacious, they were a little outdated. The breakfast was not great, average, they charged extra for a cooked breakfast. There is a lovely seating area looking directly down on Eyre square. The bar area is really nice. The carvery food is lovely. I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Lisa 05_12
Thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you found us great value and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great right on Eyre Square with all that Galway City has to offer on our doorstep. I was also delighted to read that you found our rooms to be clean and very spacious and how you enjoyed the residents lounge on the first floor. I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef with regards the Carvery and I was also glad to let the bar manager know that you enjoyed the bar area.
Thank you again for your feedback as always your review will be posted on our staff notice board and we look forward to welcoming you to the Imperial Hotel again soon.
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    225
    162
    56
    38
See reviews for
84
226
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Imperial Hotel in Galway (a Thursday)

It's about a five minute walk to the railway and bus stations and less than a minute to walk to the main shopping street.

A continental breakfast is provided free of charge or you can pay 5 Euros for a hot breakfast.

The room was very large with an ensuite bathroom, free wifi and tea / coffee facilities.

We found the rooms to be clean but may be a little tatty around the edges - but generally good.

The sleep quality depends upon which member of our group you speak to.

Personally I slept really well and never heard a thing. Another person's hearing aid broke and they slept on their good ear and also never heard anything.
My wife heard the dripping cistern in the toilet all night and some sort of faint alarm.
The final member of the party (in another room) was entertained by some sort of nightclub very close to the hotel with people partying and making a noise all night. When the revellers finally decided to go home the bin men and cleaners arrived outside and they never slept a wink all night. So it's hit and miss as to which room you are allocated.

Room Tip: Nothing overlooking the road with the post office on
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Skeldergate
Thank you for your review and as always it will be posted on our staff notice board. I was delighted to read that you found our location ideal we have a great location right on Eyre Square and that you found our rooms very large and clean. I was also glad to read that you had a good night sleep with regards to the final member of your party if they had contacted reception we might of being able to move them to another room.
Thank you again for your feed back it is always welcome.
Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location on Eyre Square really in the heart of town so ideal to explore the town from. The hotel has an old, rather tired feel to it with dated furnishings and gloomy lighting but is clean and the staff are friendly and efficient. The room was a good size and the bathroom was ok except for the shower which really sprayed in every direction. You had to pay extra for a cooked breakfast (the continental one was good enough though), the bar was reasonably priced even if the rooms seemed expensive for what was on offer

Room Tip: Higher up is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ric 399
Thank you for your review and yes I would agree with you we have a great location right on Eyre Square. As regards the shower if you had rang reception we could of got someone to have a look at the shower for you. Because the building dates back to 1810 we are restricted as to what we can do with regards lighting but I appreciate the feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our continental breakfast and that it was substantial.
Thank you again for your review and as always it will be posted on our staff notice board.
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Booked two rooms here for five girls, our rooms were very spacious and spotless, as i am a light sleeper i had requested a room away from the front of the hotel which is noisey, our rooms were to the back and very quite.Continental breakfast was lovely.This hotel is perfect as its right in Eyre's Sq, and every thing you need is in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Seanine 5
Thank you for your review I was delighted to read that you and your 4 girl friends enjoyed your stay with us. It is always great to read that you found our rooms spacious and spotless and I have conveyed this to our Housekeeping team. Good also to read that you thought our Continental Breakfast was lovely and as regards our location I don't think you would get better right on Eyre Square.
Thank you again for your review and as always it will be posted on our staff notice board.
Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was fine, kept to an average standard. In city centre, but we were not disturbed by noise from the street etc. Bathroom was adequate, and bedroom was kept to a good standard. Staff at reception were lovely, very friendly. Staff in the restaurant were unfriendly and very unhelpful. Very handy in terms of location. Overall, I would be disinclined to book this hotel again, unless I heard a particularly good review of the place in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear S E
Thank you for your review and as always it will be posted on our staff notice board. I was delighted to read that you found our bedrooms a good standard and that we have a great location. Being right on Eyre Square is great as everything the city has to offer is just outside our door. I have passed on your comments to the reception staff and also to our restaurant staff at our meeting and we have organised some refresher customer training for the restaurant staff.
Thank you again for your feedback it is always welcome.
Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel on alpharooms.com for a twin room with breakfast which to any person means a full Irish breakfast unfortunately they only give you a continental breakfast which it says on there own hotel website but not on alpharooms, I explain this to the reception worker how misleading this was and she said it was nothing to do with them and it was alpharooms fault ,she made no effort to rectify the issue,very poor Customer service ,won't be staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Brendan C
Thank you for your review as always your review will go on our staff notice board. I have being onto alpharooms where you booked your room to request them to change the information as they are fully aware that it is a Continental Breakfast we serve to all guests but with the option of a €5 supplement for a guest to purchase a Full Irish Breakfast in our downstairs restaurant. I have spoken to the reception team and we have gone through Customer Service issues and yes the staff member on duty should of done something more for you.
Thank you again for your review.
Best regards
John Gannon
The Manager
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Enjoyed a Trip to the City of the Tribes, with its Bustling Street Entertainment, Pub and Cafe Culture, and Night Life. All of which is within 1 Square KM of the City Centre, bang in the Middle of Which is the Imperial. Clean, Prompt Service, Basic but good continental Breakfast, it is the Perfect base to Explore Galway. Bit Pricey compared to other hotels, but worth it as taxis not needed. Left Happy enough with the Experience.

Room Tip: Maybe get one a little closer to the lift, the Layout is a Bit Rambling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSuperSupervisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear The Super Supervisor
Thank you for your review love your description of Galway City that is how I feel about our wonderful city also. Yes the Imperial Hotel has a wonderful location with everything the city has to offer right on our doorstep. We do some great offers if you check out our website and sign up for our newsletter or contact me for your next stay and I am sure we can have a look at the rates... (don't tell everyone now) www.imperialhotelgalway.ie
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review it will be displayed on the staff notice board and we look forward to welcoming you back to the City of the Tribes and the Imperial Hotel.
Best regards
John Gannon
Imperial Hotel
Eyre Square
Galway City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing