We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, nice and warmly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Clean, nice and warmly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Well-located and easily found, this hostel is perfect if you want to enjoy time with your friends or other people you could meet. The hostel is really clean.
The breakfast is very good.
The staff are the most friendly I've met, welcoming you with some towels if the Irish weather is playing with you!
Another interesting detail: Prices were the best in the town on the night we went there (after being in four other places to know the prices).

Two points however: water is not so hot in the shower, sometimes cold, depending on when you take it. What's more, the bedrooms are not so warm but you have good quilt for sleeping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    189
    63
    16
    22
See reviews for
30
59
101
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and facilities were clean, staff were friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast was solid, plenty of room in the kitchen and common areas.

Good location; close to city centre and public transport.

Free towels!

Overall a great experience!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This Hostel is one of the most ambient filled, atmospheric fuelled and this is all down to the staff. Paudie(apologies if incorrect)is one of the most efficient people i've ever encountered. I travel a lot over the last 4 yr's as i am a writer and i have stayed in some mouse, spider and bat infected hostels...Brazil...don't go there. I have saved the best for last, the man who run's here, there and everywhere...is as elusive as snow in summer....his name is Ronan and i have now returned to my native Italy with a heart that is in pain and an emptiness that cannot be filled by mama's gnocchi or risotto. I must wade through these feeling's until i can rest my eye's on him once again. Sleepzone is a place for memories to be built on. Flavia

Room Tip: choose a room close to Reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6Ivantu9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is well located, clean, nice staff, basic breakfast provided, good advice! I like the rooms small but ok mattresses good price. I had a snoring man and they changed my room for me for free! I would recommend it to travellers- also do free walking tour and Viking pub crawl with keva!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A group of 15 stayed in the hostel sat night. 3 points
Excellent Accomodation,lovely rooms and very cosy. Just extra lighting and another mirror in would be handy.
Supper facailtes in regards to the tv room and lounge and two computers and free whfi. Parking is just across the way.
Staff were very nice and friendly. Fred i think his name was checked us in very nice and friendly :-).so helpfull in regards to directions around the area.
Would we stay again yes my group would def stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aislingb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I am not a fan of hostels and have definitely stayed at nicer hostels, but this suited our needs perfectly. We (a bunch of study abroad students) spent a night in Galway at this hostel. It was relatively clean, but did leave a little to the imagination. The beds were comfortable enough to sleep on. The bathroom was fine, although the shower was a bit hard to work. We did have our own private bathroom which was great. The location is very good as well.

If possible, I would get a private room. We were in a mixed room with three other girls and it can just be awkward. They woke us up coming home late, and we woke them up in the morning. It is inconvenient and avoid if possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed at this hostel twice, and I lovee it! Super friendly staff (shout out to Donna!), very clean and lots of facilities. It's also in a great location, close to massive supermarkets and the main parts of town (Galway is tiny anyway). Only slight downside is that during the times I've been there, there were mainly big groups staying at the hostel.. not too good for the solo traveler! but luckily the hostel has loads of little common rooms so it can be easy to meet other people if you want to! Just book to stay there! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Property: Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing