We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Ranked #9 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Reviewed September 25, 2013

i have never stayed in a hostel before. but like most people in todays economic climate moneys tight . and i have to say i dont know why i didnt do it years ago . sleepzone was spottless and clean. on suite bathrooms were very clean to as was the beds and linen. Sarah the young receptionist couldnt have been more friendly and polite to both me and my family. going off duty and knowing i wouldnt be seeing her again as i was leaving she went out off her way to pop a booklet under our door off a list off hostels to stay at and a very friendly hand written note . not many staff would go out off there way to do that and my family were greatful. also a free breakfast each morning was a +. we have enjoyed our stay very much and are looking forward to returning

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiethompson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 487 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've been travelling for years and never had the courage to stay in a hostel. This time, we decided to mix it up a bit, and what a great experience! Amazing staff, clean rooms, and very secure! We had arrived early and the woman working the front desk offered us the showers so we could get cleaned up after our long flight! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank StefaniF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Though this hostel has a high volume of beds, it still manages to have a friendly, laid-back atmosphere. The staff is helpful in recommending things to do and providing directions. Sleepzone is located a couple of blocks away from Eyre Square, and just across the square, there are pedestrian streets lined with shops, pubs, and restaurants. I liked the location because there was not much vehicle traffic outside.
The hostel itself is clean and very functional. Because my friend and I were a little late in booking our beds, we stayed one night in a nine-bed mixed ensuite dorm and one night in a six-bed mixed ensuite dorm. Each bed had an individual light, and each room had at least one window that could be opened to help circulate the air. Even so, the room was a little stuffy. The bathrooms had a clean toilet, sink, and shower.
The kitchen was spacious, and the hostel provided a tea, cold cereal, and toast breakfast each morning. There were also several lounge rooms, a few connected to the kitchen and eating area and a slightly larger room off of the front desk area. Although there were no lockers in the rooms, there was a luggage room next to the front desk area, and we were able to store our bags there the day we checked out even though we weren’t leaving the city until the afternoon.
Sleepzone cost a little bit more than we were hoping to spend, but it was a professional and comfortable facility.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff were friendly, the room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was free (although it's really just toast and tea but you can't complain when it's free!) and they didn't charge for towel! The price of the stay was good and the hostel is located just a two minute walk from Eyre Square in the centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenDaw92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

At first we had trouble finding the hostel, and we got all lost and confused. But it the end it turned out to be great. It's a relatively new hostel, or they refurbished it. It has an amazingly equipped kitchen, free tea and coffee- the machine kind which we all appreciated so much after coming from long walks down the beach.The general facilities area is clean, with a couple of separes-like quite rooms, where you can read or just contemplate, maximum of three or four persons, which is an excellent idea. The TV lounge is also great, we watched the finals of the Olympics 2012 there and met some of the most amazing fellow travelers. The staff is very friendly and professional. We had some trouble with the credit card with which i booked, but instead of just cancelling it, they called me asked if we could arrive earlier, or guarantee that we will for sure be there. Much appreciated! The only down side is that we were on ground level, our room window right there on the pavement level, so we could hear everyone that walked by- but good thing is that there were functional curtains. And a nice decent size en suite bathroom is also a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

When I got to Galway, I asked people how to get to the hostel and struggled with the directions that I was given. I'm not good at remembering them. So, I called up the hostel and the girl who was working at the time, Sarah persevered through my stress and snaps and helped me out. It's hard to find people like that. When I got there, she was very helpful. Before going to Ireland, I joined the An Oige Hostel Association allows discounts to any members who stay in their hostels. I had to pay the day before arriving and forgot about my membership over the phone. So, when I got there, I showed Sarah my membership card and she happily gave me the discount then and there with no problems. Sarah was very polite the whole time and very helpful with many things such as explaining what's good to go to in the town.

The hostel itself was very nice. The free breakfast is small but simple; cornflakes and toast. You get free towels and free internet (only on the ground floor). The beds are also nice and comfortable.

The only two downsides are price which can get quite high in comparison to other hostels and the lack of plug sockets in the rooms.

I would gladly stay here again and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Great_White_Brow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 5 girls stayed here for the Galway races this year. It was very clean, the staff were very helpful and there were no problems with any curfews that I had experienced in other hostels.
The room was small but we weren't going to be there for long so it was fine. (We brought an extension lead for the very many hair dryers/straighteners/ chargers we were going to need!!)
Location was great too, walking distance to Eyre square & shop street!
I would have no hesitation of staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,098 reviews
5.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
0.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 60 in Galway
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snoozles Hostel
Snoozles Hostel
#6 of 60 in Galway
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range: $32 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing