We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hostel in Ireland so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in Ireland so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Best Hostel during our two-weeks adventure trip through Ireland, though we have been in Hostels all over the world. The kitchen is huge and luxurous, the facilities are in good shape and the receptionists are very friendly, humerous and georgous (especially Sarah =) ). They even have a luggage room, which is accessable any time. Breakfast is included and the rooms are clean and neat. I would start working here, if I came back to study in Galway (MOST BEAUTIFUL CITY!!!!).
Greetz: Adrian =)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onkel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    189
    63
    16
    22
See reviews for
30
59
101
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is more like a hotel than hostel. Great location, knowledgable, helping and professional staff, lift, modern kitchen, expresso machine with free coffee, nice common room, secure and great price. Getting all these will give you good sleep. my room was ensuite and was on quiet street. They gave perfact directions to reach to Plaza, grocery store and pub. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated their hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksn1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

In June I embarked on a backpacking adventure that would last a few months. I've stayed in many hostels and apartments in cities all over Europe, but I can say without any reservations that Sleepzone in Galway was the elite of all hostels I've been in - hands down the best one.

The accommodations were excellent - rooms were a good size with plenty of space for my two traveling partners and I to spread our stuff out and still keep out of the way for the other people in our room. I've never been in such a well-stocked kitchen that wasn't my own back home, either! They have pots and pans and a French press and anything, really, that you need to cook with. I saw some people making elaborate feasts using the huge kitchen - well worth the stay just to be able to cook. And, added bonus, is the Marks and Spencer around the corner, as well as the free coffee 24/7!!

But I could go on all day about the excellent accommodations, the great location - close enough to the bars and clubs to walk there quickly but far enough to be concealed from noise - and many other aspects, but the thing that made Sleepzone so great were the people.

From Sarah, who checked us in with a smile on her face and plenty of recommendations for whatever we wanted to do in Galway, to Kean who hand-picked pubs, clubs, and bars to adventure with us through, to Mike keeping everybody safe and happy as the nightshift head, to Joanne's cheerful morning demeanor when we stumbled sleepy-eyed through the hostel in the morning in search for the free coffee and breakfast, to Paraic who entertained us even as he finished up work in the back room.

I could go on forever about the amazing experience my friends and I had at Sleepzone and how no other hostel has been able to compare yet - but you should just book here and see for yourself.

In summary: the people, the location, the amenities - all were above excellent. If I ever returned to Galway I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Sleepzone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmw546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Personal there are better hostels in Galway, we just had to come here cause our generally hostel we go to was full, in future we will wait till there is a vacancy in it. On our arrival there was only 2 of our group there and they wanted us to pay for it all up front if we wanted to enter our room, so we had to wait. Also there was 25e security deposit each, which I think is not fair at all. There is no need to have 250e for a security deposit for a one room. The rooms were clean and there was 2 toilets and 2 showers which was good and we were very near eyer square. I felt the staff weren't over friendly nor helpful, they didn't tell us about where dinning room was or anything. The beds are comfortable. Overall will not come here again

Room Tip: I advise people if going in group to try get a room with just you guys cause you dont know what peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Our check-in time is 15:00 as stated on our website and on various booking sites.

However, if guests arrive prior to this they can leave their belongings (for free) in our large luggage room just off reception. Free wi-fi, computer access and tea /coffee can be availed of in our large kitchen/dining area or in our comfy communal areas.

With a capacity of 200, we feel it is best to take payment for all bookings prior to any guests entering their rooms. This keeps things very simple and avoids possible confusion of payment on check-out!

Yes, we ask for a fully refundable group security deposit from some groups of 4+, again this is stated clearly on both our website and booking sites. We feel that E25/person is a fair amount to ask for to ensure that our house rules are adhered too by those groups. This means that all other guests get to enjoy their stay with us in Galway.

Our staff have for quite some time now been one of the highest rated nationwide. Their friendliness and helpfulness is constantly remarked upon in reviews - a quick glimpse through various booking websites will confirm this.

All communal areas are just off reception including the dining room. Staff are more than happy to point you in the right direction if asked - but guests are introduced to all the hostel's facilities during check-in.

The best thing about staying in hostels is the great people you get to meet and the experiences you have. Unfortunately in this case we could not move the guests as it was a very busy weekend in August and we were full - otherwise we would only love to be able to accommodate these guests.

Thanks and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

right in the heart of galway, not far from the best pubs, good clean facilities and very modern and funky. you'll enjoy this hostel and its friendly staff. i hear they have other hostels too in other locations but i didnt get to try them, this was was great

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaximillianKolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I'm not sure how sleep zone has the reviews it does. My friend and I arrived to a loud, institutional and overpriced hostel. Upon check in we were told that we had been put in separate rooms which is fine but inconvenient considering how early we had made our reservation. It is also important to draw attention to the security situation there are not lockers in the rooms the hostel has 20 lockers that cost between 4 and 6 euros a day depending on the size and when we arrived many of these lockers were full. It seems unreasonable to charge that much for lockers and to offer such a limited number for a two hundred person hostel. Because they allow group bookings when we stayed the hostel was filled with school children and stag parties making it noisy and not very relaxing. The amenities are acceptable with clean rooms and bathrooms and a nice kitchen but in terms of atmosphere and price in a cozy town like galway you can do better. Maybe it's just me but I don't understand these reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiobhanEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the cleanliness of the hostel (always rated extremely highly on hostel-booking websites) and our kitchen facilities (recently renovated) - they always receive a lot of praise.

We must apologise that there were not enough lockers available on the day that you stayed with us - we recall conversing with you about this, and again, we certainly appreciate that your laptop in particular is extremely valuable. Admittedly we do not have a locker 'per person' based on our capacity, but the sheer size of the larger lockers allows friends to share, while the smaller lockers are more plentiful in numbers. We know you did manage to get a large locker for E6 that you fit two large ruck sacks in plus smaller back packs with laptops. That's pretty good value for money between two very good friends, E3 each!

With 200 guests (as you note) it can get boisterous at certain times of the day, and a group of children checking in (for instance) can be disruptive for a while - we do our best to work with group leaders to allow for effective management of such a group - apologies that your experience of them was negative. Our bachelor party groups are often exuberant in their approach to their event, but rarely troublesome for other guests, and apologies if the bachelor party (who were our guests during your stay) bothered you, though we received no other complaints. Our staff are on-hand 24 hours to assist any guest feeling in any way uncomfortable.

There are occasions where we cannot keep guests in the same room - the terms and conditions on the site you booked with do warn of this - though we always try to avoid it whenever possible (a lot of work goes on behind the scenes daily to achieve this).

We will agree to disagree on your opinion of us being 'institutional'. If that were the case our staff would not be continuously rated as highly on various booking websites, the best in most cases. They are always complimented as being very friendly, approachable and helpful. Our trip advisor reviews would certainly back this up.

Safe travels,
Paraic - Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our first family trip to the west part of Ireland and staying at Sleepzone made it even more memorable. From the modern conveniences (free wifi, clean rooms, baths and kitchen facilities) to their superb customer service, friendliness of staff, and excellent locations to nearby attractions, Sleepzone was by far the best value for money. In fact, we ended up staying at all three of their properties! You definitely get your money's worth and more and we will definitely stay at Sleepzone again on our next trip to Ireland.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rik_f_gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Property: Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing