We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“professionally run B&B with excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rise Guesthouse
Ranked #159 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room for The Rise Guesthouse deserves 5 stars, clean, big, beautiful, nice decor. Looked as good as a hotel! The staff was also very helpful and friendly. The Rise is run along with two other B&Bs in the area, so it is operated much more like a business. If this is the experience you prefer, and not the friendly mom-and-pop innkeepers, then I can highly recommend it. The room was very clean, water pressure was good, wifi was good. The breakfast was quite standard, with cold cuts, etc., and not like a host who prepares your breakfast while you watch. I wanted to do my laundry, but the two washers they had were not operational, and they offered for me to go to one of the other (very close by) B&Bs to do it, but I preferred not to. If you are desperately looking for laundry, I would check that the machines have been repaired. I personally prefer a more homey experience, so I may or may not stay again in the future, but for those who want a reasonably-priced, good-value, excellent-facilities experience, I have no hesitation recommending it. It was 55 pounds for 2 people, 1 night, not including breakfast (another 6 pounds, I believe).

Room Tip: Room 2 on ground floor was quiet and convenient (no stairs!), large and spacious with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The machines have since been repaired and are fully functional. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for one night (Easter Sunday). Was cheaper to book triple Room, was big enough for the two of us but it may be a tad squashed for 3people. Room very clean and exactly like the pictures. The guesthouse was busy for the weekend that was in it but didn't effect noise or breakfast the next morning. Would recommend to others. Staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandSadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the rise guesthouse 18 march 2013 was so nice and cosy felt just like home. Was there for 2 nights and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Arranged takeaway menus were offered as i wanted to stay in 1 night and the host even rang it in for me. The room was warm clean and very spacious , shower was so lovely was like a power shower and constant hot water. There was even a pillow mint on the bed on my arrival.

Will definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very nice modern decor and elegant, house is amazing and smells great very fresh is also very clean. I suffer from asthma and the air quality is superb compared to other places i have stayed! Staff are so friendly and willing to help in any way possible and give great advice on galway as their knowledge of the area is brilliant. Rooms are comfortable and very relaxing, shower was very nice constant hot water. Great atmosphere and alot of facilities available. Breckfast was wonderful and filling, great selection. This place is Value For Money! Great experience and we will return again. Very impressed

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, 2nd floor have a balcony for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Michael,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

So, we were originally slated to stay in Scotland for 2 nights, but were unable to take the rental car from Ireland without a $1200 deposit. So, we had 2 free nights, one of which we stayed in Derry and the other we spent in Galway, as we already had a night planned in Galway at the Amber Heights B&B. To make slightly long tale short, we arrived at Amber Heights one night early on a blustery Saturday evening. Unfortunately, they didn't have any rooms available, however, they pointed us just around the corner to The Rise. We were greeted by Patrick, a super-friendly and accommodating gentleman, who made 2 weary travelers feel very much at ease. He was able to provide us a room with 2 queen beds, a shower in the room, for both nights, at a special discounted rate that had been featured online!! He was extremely friendly, shared information about places to eat and hang out in the area and was a wonderful host. The breakfast was delicious, prepared in a beautiful dining area. There was a buffet, which included cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheeses, and Patrick and the other host would prepare Irish bacon, eggs, oatmeal, coffee and tea. There was a simple living room to watch tv and speak with whomever might be passing through. They shared the history of the building, which had been a school for artistic children before they bought it and converted it into a B&B.
This was a very nice B&B, great for the price! It was only a 10-15 minute drive to Galway Center as it is located on the outskirts and you can't walk there. Parking is available and it is a very safe and beautiful area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slee9161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always strive to accomodate our guests to the best of our ability. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the owner who thoughtfully carried our bags up to our beautifully decorated and spacious room. He also showed us the "mini kitchen" that was located on the first floor near our room. The kitchen contained complimentary pasta and sauce that you could cook in the microwave that was provided, if you arrived late and were hungry. The kitchen also contained all the crockery and cutlery that you would need. You could also make your tea and coffee here as well.There was a lovely sitting room down stairs with books, magazines, games, TV and free computer and internet. The breakfast that was povided was wonderful. Our only regret was we were not staying here longer. The Guesthouse/B&B is also located close to a local shopping centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This super smart, chic B & B was like staying in a hotel. Room decor was modern and beds were comfortable, there was a lovely en-suite with toiletries provided. Staff were friendly and helpful. We (3 of us) had a room at the front on the first floor and thought we might be disturbed by others coming and going but this did not happen. There were tea and coffee making facilities in a communal area on the landing, and we were able to fill flasks in the morning for our trip.
Breakfast was great, served in a bright and airy dining space, there was a good choice and the 'Full Irish' cooked breakfast kept me going for the whole day!
Everywhere was scrupulously clean. There was adequate parking space.
Warning - we picked up a leaflet of 'local' eating, pubs etc. but the restaurant marked nearest to The Rise was actually a quite long walk down to the beach area of the town, a 'design' fault on the leaflet. Nevertheless, a great one night stay, and I would certainly go there again and possibly for longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisBurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Chris,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
6.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,084 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,769 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rise Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rise Guesthouse

Address: The Rise Bishop o'Donnell Road 6 Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Road, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $78 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rise Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Rise Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing