We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rise Guesthouse
Ranked #159 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here on the 10th aug 2012, had a fantastic time. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful without being in your face. Rooms were so modern and up to date, very clean and spacious. Breakfast was gorgeous. As a person with allergies they catered to my requirements without any hesitation. Only a 10min walk from the town centre. The galway nightlife was brill, very busy day and night, a great atmosphere. Will definately be back again to stay in the rise guesthouse..........

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Amanda,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Myself and my partner enjoyed a lovely night in this guesthouse on the 18th of August 2012 and can only recommend this place for it's high level and great breakfast. The guesthouse is only a ten minute walk to the city. The staff were most helpful and friendly and gave great tips on where to eat out. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Thank you for a really pleasing stay at your house !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiemary4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Mary,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in this b&b on the 4th of august, found it to be very reasonably priced with nice spacious rooms. Room and en-suite were spotlessly clean. Staff very friendly and helpful but not in your face which i was very pleased with. Had the full Irish for breakfast the perfect hangover cure, everything cooked to perfection. 10mins walk from city center which was ideal. would def recommend and will stay again when back in Galway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Glen,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in the guest house and while it was pleasant for the money we paid for our room and the Irish breakfast on top I felt for the service we received it was over priced.To begin with room was pleasant but there was a fridge in the room which seemed dirty with a gone out of date yougart in it. then when we used the tap in the bathroom a bit fell off the tap.there was a shower and a shower curtain that stuck too you as you took your shower!!finally we were on the ground floor opposite the front door and breakfast room. It was noisey at times and there was an adjoining door to stop noise outside our door but the light bulb was gone so you were in pitch darkness. To top it of breakfast was really over cooked big time in relation to the eggs and bacon. As one guest mentioned in the previous post it s not really like a guest house in the sense as a staff member seems to be present or visible for a few hours in the day from what we saw.given all that we enjoyed our stay in Galway but felt for the service we received it was very overpriced.:(

Room Tip: Ask not to be placed on ground floor opposite enterences hall:/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowdrops087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. We do now ask that guests keep noise to a minimum, especially for those staying on the ground floor. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is by far the worst B&B I've stayed in... if we can call this a Bed and Breakfast... This is one of three houses that looks much more like an industrial pension with no personality at all. Besides, it shouldn't be called a B&B, since breakfast is not included in the price...
We never met the hosts, rooms are spacious but there's not one single place to hang your toilet towel. If you stay on ground floor triple rooms be prepared to have breakfast smell by 8am in your room.

Really really bad for the price...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed on Friday 27 April and booked that morning. We usually go for hotels but this place was the only place available at a reasonable price and it was a pleasant surprise. It seemed brand new and the room was in perfect condition...there was even a little chocolate for each of us with our bath towels on arrival. The dining/breakfast area was lovely, again really new and you could opt to pay for the bed alone and not the breakfast which was a nice option to have. There was also a coffee station/kitchenette at each floor (there were three floors). The atmosphere was really relaxed and there was a laptop available for internet access and also a PC with a printer. Although it wasn't in the centre of Galway city it wasn't far out (as we drove I couldn't estimate how much of a walk it would be). All in all we thought The Rise was lovely and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amurf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Sometimes leery of finding places online - we were not disappointed. It's only been open a short time so everything is clean, new, and still smells like a new house. The couple that runs it, Michael and Christina, are friendly, easy-going, and helpful. They offer a full Irish breakfast but the continental is more than enough for us, plus they have an espresso machine that makes cappuccinos :) They have 2 computers for guest use, a little lounge area and each floor has tea/coffee and a fridge. I haven't seen all the rooms but the couple that I have seen all seem to have their own fridge too. I really don't have a single bad thing to say, in fact we have rearranged our trip so we can stay here longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaAndrew508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonyGalway, Owner at The Rise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Anna,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at The Rise Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
6.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,084 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,769 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rise Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rise Guesthouse

Address: The Rise Bishop o'Donnell Road 6 Cuan Glas | Bishop O'Donnell Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $78 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rise Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rise Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing