We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Spanish cuisine”
Review of Lunares - CLOSED

Lunares
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The new truly Spanish restaurant in Galway...all food cooked by its Spanish owners following the recipes of its ancestors.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish cuisine”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Authentic Spanish restaurant in the heart of Galway, the food was excellent, and great value for money. Don't expect a fancy tapas bar, instead, Lunares offers real Spanish food, well done at great prices. The interior might be a bit basic, but that's OK, definitely recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank galwaycosmonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    35
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious, rustic & authentic!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We ate here last night. We got 5 dishes... A few jamon iberico croquettes, pork ribs, patatas bravas, meatballs, and a stuffed loin of pork.

They were all fab, save for the pork - it was chewy and I didn't like the stuffing... But that's a personal opinion. But it was very chewy...

The ribs were the surprise.. Sweet sauce with fresh thyme, really tender ribs.

Meatballs were surprising too ... In a creamy sauce - but delicious!

We had the 5 dishes, a non alcoholic beer and 2 glasses of Sauvignon blanc - total €47!

I'm just back from a sun holiday in tenerife... We didn't find anywhere that did real authentic Spanish food... Had to come back to my doorstep!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lunares is as authentic as you are going to get outside of Spain! And the portion size is more Irish than Spanish, so you will never leave hungry. Good atmosphere, friendly staff, try the stuffed red peppers made to our waiter's grandmother's recipe - fantastic. The large bottles of fizzy cider make a great alternative if you don't want a full bottle of wine. It's not fancy but it is the real deal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I can't fault anything about this place. The food was amazing, and great value too. Everything was cooked perfectly. Really great service and friendly staff. The place has a homely vibe and a great atmosphere. I think this is one of the best tapas restaurants I've been to. I'd definitely go back the next time I'm in Galway!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G-Murphy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Small, friendly place.”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Pretty extensive menu for a small place. Food was authentic and portions were just about right. The smoke from the fireplace was a little overpowering at times and if all the tables had been taken it would have been a problem. Overall a good experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keyscritter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunares also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing