We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Spanish experience.”
Review of Lunares - CLOSED

Lunares
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The new truly Spanish restaurant in Galway...all food cooked by its Spanish owners following the recipes of its ancestors.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great Spanish experience.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great food, great atmosphere and at a good price. I left full. The garlic shrimps were spectacular. The food was authentic and reminded me of Spain. I will definately be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    35
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went to Lunares on Valentines night with my girlfriend, not that they were doing anything overly special for the night just because we were in Galway for the night and both love tapas! We've been to a number of tapas restaurants in different places but I must say I found here to be very authentic. The food was top notch. We loved the setting of the place...very unassuming and casual and great (and quiet) background music! The staff were very friendly. We probably over-ordered by trying 6 tapas - we had hope to try the Crema Catalana dessert but hadn't left enough room! 5 tapas is probably good for an average couple if you do want dessert. We were both given a complimentry small cocktail drink afterwards for the night that was in it (as did everyone there) which was a lovely touch at the end Overall, we loved the place and hopefully will get back for a night when in Galway again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tomred1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a great lunch here the tapas was very authentic, inexpensive and plentiful- we were surrounded by Spanish people which can only be a good sign. The staff were very helpful and informative too.


Helpful?
Thank MontyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy simple tasy spanish food”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I really enjoyed the food the service and the relaxed atmosphere! We went there for a birthday and everyone was very happy with what the ordered, and very full!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuttyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Realy Bad!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I got poisoned in there, be very carefull with the paella, rotten meat is a daily menu.The place is a trap, they try to cover bad meat with spices and they use very poor quality ingredients.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Catalin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunares also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing