We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Devondell

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devondell
Ranked #78 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

It is a must to stay at devondell B&B whilst holidaying in Galway. Berna is one of Ireland's gems. We will never forget her warm welcome and hospitality. Such a caring person. Rooms were quaint extremely clean and cosy. Breakfast was out of this world. Worth staying there for this alone. God bless you Berna. Xx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amoskilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
89
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham,CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Where to begin? Berna made our 3 day stay in Galway an experience not to be forgotten. She is a warm, gracious and very generous host. She offered to drive us on multiple occasions even though we had a car. The breakfasts were amazing with a half dozen fruit options, scones, breads, croissants, cheese, and cereals. Not to mention the hot food choices. The table was elegantly set The room was nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. She is the reason we will go back to Galway.Many thanks Berna !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TankaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This B&B is absolutely adorable and more importantly, Berna is a fantastic hostess. We arrived around 5:30pm and then decided to take a walk, and Berna offered to drive us into town so we wouldn't have to walk (it's about a 15 minute walk at most, and we were happy to walk). In the evening, when we decided to walk into town for a few drinks, Berna offered to drive us again, which was very sweet of her, but we went ahead and walked. She's remarkably sweet!
We got two twin rooms and they weren't huge, but they were a good size for one person, nice cozy and warm.
For breakfast, Berna offered us a menu and we got the waffles which were absolutely amazing! There were also croissants, cheeses, fresh berries and honey comb. Absolutely delicious breakfast and a fantastic host. Would definitely recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was in Galway for a wedding; In my usual organised manner I proceeded to organise my digs at the last minute. Fortunately the Hotel the wedding was at was fully booked - so I found myself here. I definitely hit the Jackpot. After the drive from Dublin and the Wedding Ceremony, I arrived to check in before the reception. I was greeted by Berna who showed me to the "Bluebell" room - a spotless, homely room (ensuite) complete with Irish crocheted linen, quilted comforters and finishing touches that would put any large Hotel to shame. Nothing was too much for this charming Hostess whose knowledge of the area left me wishing I had a bit more time to spend in Galway! After tea and toast in a beautiful living room featuring an open fire, she saw me to the Hotel where the wedding reception was (thankfully I had told her the name of the Hotel because I had forgotten it!)
The Breakfast was out of this World; freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, baked fruit, pastries, muffins, and your choice of a selection of some very different cooked breakfasts - another reason I wished I'd stayed longer - would love to try more of them!
I sat in the stunning breakfast room and put off the drive back to Dublin for as long as possible......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Berna was an AMAZING host during our 3 days there. That beautiful Irish lilt coupled with genuine hospitality made the experience in Galway all the better. The breakfasts were incredible and her knowledge of where to go in the surrounding area was spot on. The accomodations were clean and spacious, modern facilities, and welcoming after a long day sightseeing. Do not miss the experience. Thank you Berna!

Room Tip: Walking distance to downtown Galway and the ocean. Walk the concrete causeway in the evening for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Coffey0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new forest
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nothing is too much trouble for Berna. Essentials - The bed was really comfortable, the bathroom is spotless. Extras - presentation of everything is superb. Lovely pieces of old furniture, pretty covers, lace tablecloths, intriguing choice of cooked breakfast, every type of fruit etc, fresh squeezed juice, scones, cheeses, I could go on and on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jclimecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Devondell of Galway was definitely our favorite B&B in all of Ireland!! The lovely Berna is the perfect hostess and made us feel like family from the moment we arrived! She gave us excellent tips on visiting Galway and the surrounding areas and drove us into town on our first evening!The rooms were immaculate, charming and comfortable. The dining room was beautifully set for us in the morning with Irish linens and lace and the most delicious home baked muffins you'll ever eat!! We were in Ireland for 10 days and had booked everything in advance. By our good fortune, Devondell was the only B&B we had planned to stay 2 nights because the area is so rich with things to see and do. Make sure to visit! Berna and her Devondell are one of the gems of Ireland! Kevin, Corina, Dan and Cathy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ceordh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#76 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.6 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Glenariff
B&B Glenariff
#62 of 197 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#18 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
#95 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devondell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devondell

Property: Devondell
Address: Devondell 47 Devon Park, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Devondell Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing