We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly delightful !”

Corrib House Tea Rooms
Ranked #9 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Galway
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Step back in time and join us in Corrib House Tea rooms for breakfast, lunch, teas and coffee. Our beautifully restored Georgian Townhouse is the perfect place to unwind and relax overlooking Galway's famous Salmon Weir . We opened our doors to the public in October 2011 and have steadily become a favorite hangout of both locals and tourists alike. Here at Corrib House we take great pride in everything we produce. From our breads and cakes to our soups, quiches and scones we make everything from scratch. .... Even down to the biscotti with your coffee. We use the finest local suppliers and produce such as our free range eggs from Hillsbrook farm in Barnadarg, Donnacha's salad leaves from the Burren, herbs from our own garden, Colleran's award winning meats and the great taste gold star awarded Fixx coffee. We care about our customers dietary requirements and offer loads of gluten free cakes, breakfast and lunch options. We Serve a selection of breakfast and brunch options from 9.30-12:15 And lunch is available from 12:15 to 5 with an ever changing selection of delicious cakes and treats laid out on our front counter.
DRSPOK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Utterly delightful !”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wonderful experience, light airy ambiance with smiling staff serving grade A breakfast and lunchs (tried both)! Excellent coffee. Heartily recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRSPOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    29
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quaint place and lovely food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We came across this while wandering around Galway and decided to have breakfast there the next day. Great spot, nice service and lovely food. The lunch menu looked super as well and as for the cakes! We enjoyed watching a family of swans on the water. There is also a lovely sheltered courtyard to sit out on a nice day. The place is also a guesthouse and it would be a great location for a stay in Galway - quiet with nice fews but very close to the centre.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming break for tea and cake”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A local recommended this slightly out-of-the-way spot when we asked about a place to sit and have a snack during our one-day visit on a sunny Saturday in May. What a treat! Charming rooms, lovely staff, and --most importantly-- yummy tea and cake! We likely also got to watch the very same swan family as the reviewer below. Adorable! Well worth going a few blocks up Woodquay. And if we're ever back in Galway, we fully plan to return ... maybe even for an overnight stay at the inn.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A haven”
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I've been to this little oasis several times and will be back... Delicious food and excellent service... You feel like you've gone back in time too.... A beautiful old building with views of the river... Last week I watched a swan with her 7 cygnets! I would heartily recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labellefifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty Sandwich, soup and coffee and biscuits”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

After wandering around Galway looking for somewhere healthy and tasty to eat I stumbled across The Corrib House Tea Rooms. What a wonderfully pleasant surprise! I had the hummus and roasted mushroom open sandwich with roasted red bell peppers, mixed leaves, toasted pine nuts, it came with some Cous Cous and some pickled cucumbers. The bread is home made. Absolutely delicious. Had their Celeriac and hazelnut soup too so I could warm up! Sooooo good especially on a chilly April day! Lovely view through a huge bay window. Really good coffee with some biscotti! I arrived feeling drained and a bit cranky but left feeling happy and healthy! Waitress was lovely and knew the menu well! All round ten out of ten! I would love to come back on a sunny day and sit in the little court yard :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittykatization
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrib House Tea Rooms also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Corrib House Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing