We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location is ok”
Review of Amber Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amber Lodge B&B
Ranked #172 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Galway.
Pros
Location is good - 5 mins walking to city center, 2 mins to coach station. If you take a tour to Aran Islands it will be convenient for you - buses, that are going to the ferry, will departure from there.
Free parking
Free wifi
Outdoor patio

Cons
Can be noisy sometimes. One night UK ladies who returned from pubs at midnight were drinking and laughing until 4 AM.
Considering the given quality price for 3 nights could be better.
Shower is extremely small. You can not bend down and pick up the soap or shampoo if it is dropped. You have to open the door and exit from shower to do this.
Choosing the room is a lottery. We got the room at the back of the house. It was ok, but small and not very confortable.

If you are not so choosy for comfortable conditions you can stay if the price satisfies you.

Room Tip: Try to ask the room in main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 168 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

THIS NOT A 3 STAR B&B! The room was dingy, in an extension at the back of the main house. It had little more than a glorified screen door, which leaked badly during an all-night rain storm. The shower was mouldy and the mechanism didn't work. There was a blood stain on one pillow case.Wifi was non-functional. Bed was hard as a rock and poorly made. A thoroughly uncomfortable stay.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Location was not bad but could have been better, didn't have food as we had no time, room was not ready when we arrived so we came back later, room was tiny and i have bruises on my back from when i tried to brush my teeth, think the bathroom was designed for mini people, bed was not the best, only stayed 1 night but i doubt i will return!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else even if you have to pay another few Euros!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salzyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights for a conference I was speaking at at NUIG. When we checked in, we were told the front gate should be kept closed and given a code to get round the back to the rooms. The next morning, we went out for breakfast and when we came back, the gate was held open with a little statue. When we went round the back, a key with our room number on it was sitting outside our door on the window sill in plain view. I went into my room to get ready to go back out, and when I came out about 15 minutes later, the key was still there, with no one around. I went looking for the cleaning lady, and when I found her, she said she was just about to come down to get it (which was clearly a lie). I told her it was very unprofessional of her to be leaving keys to peoples rooms outside their doors, especially with the gate open. Anyone could have come in in the 15 minutes that I was there (and who knows for how long the key was sitting there before that) and robbed us - and I had a laptop in the room! She was unapologetic. Also, rooms very small and badly in need of renovation. I was really unhappy with this place and would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skandrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

They gave us a kind of basement.The bathroom was tiny (and i am a little person...so imagine!),linen and towels were dirty..probably they d been used again as i found a footprint on them..All in was awful.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

my husband booked 2 double rooms for 2 nights over six months ago and when we arrived (with our pregnant daughter) found the owner had double booked. He clearly didn't care and made no effort to find an acceptable solution....We were led across the road to 'a business colleague' and spent one night in a smelly and dirty b and b which left our clothes reeking of fried food.

I would never recommend this b and b to anyone.

Room Tip: save yourself disappointment and go across the road to Lynfield Guesthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

good loction and the wee rooms underneath are great idea rooms were small but grand for only one nights stay . when we arrived tho staff hadnt a clue wat they were doing or codes for doors staff wernt very friendly but as i say great location just minutes walk from everything. during the night i cudnt get sleep as next door ya could hear everything roaring and shouting not suitable for familys with kids .

Room Tip: higher floors prob are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy186602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
942 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garvey's Inn
Garvey's Inn
#90 of 189 in Galway
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lodge B&B

Address: 26a College Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $45 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city of Galway, this purpose-built bed and breakfast offers bright, comfortable and attractive en suite rooms in a great location. Amber Lodge B&B is just 3 minutes’ walk from Galway’s bus and railway stations. The lodge is also within easy reach of Galway’s shops, pubs, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amber Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing