We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream hotel”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a two night stay in Flannerys .On arrival we were greeted by Nicole who was courteous n friendly .Next we were welcomed by Rod the manager whose hospitality knows no bounds.Food was excellent and rooms extremely comfortable (including the upgrades as a treat.Had a relaxing night in the spacious bar with good entertainment .Buffet breakfast was excellent. We have stayed in 4 stars that would not even come near. A truly reputable hotel. We will return.Lillian n Joe Hanafin. Tralee Co.Kerry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanafin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    441
    216
    86
    52
See reviews for
276
465
70
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I still haven't accustomed to the heating going off at night. Good thing, them, that the window could be opened (and closed) only with some effort involving a chair to step on. Only one package of coffee and a snowy TV picture spoke of careless service. Uniquely on the island, my usual credit card was not accepted. Uniquely also, breakfast was not included, so I started early (maybe the credit card machine was still asleep). Otherwise, the hotel was normal, but some way from the town centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmessan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend. The room was average. I was surprised to have an old telly with very few channels on it where as most hotels have upgraded and have cable channels and radio where as this didn't.
It's only 5 mins from the City Centre and there was a bus stop right outside the gate although we didn't use it.
When people walk along the corridor it makes a lot of noise causing me to wake up a few times in the night.
We didn't eat here at all but went for food in the city centre. I did enjoy my stay here but I wouldn't recommend it.
The staff are friendly and very helpful. They called us a taxi and brought us up an iron and ironing board when asked.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinameen
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have never come across this situation before. Simply put they charge the hotel residents more then they charge the locals (Called Members behind the bar).

The difference is between 20p and 30p per drink. I noticed it when I was charged at the “Member Rate” by mistake and asked why?? I was told it was to get the local people into the bar.

The way I see it, I was overcharged because I was a hotel resident!!! Between hotel, drink and food we spent about €150 in one night and the locals get looked after better coming in for a pint!!!!

We could say we had a nice stay apart from this, but it is like meeting a nice person and then you find out that he stole your car on the way home. All the good points go out the window.

Never again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed one night in Flannery's with a group of friends. The room we were given was clean and comfortable but outdated-nothing like the photos on their website. The TV was an old clunker with a terrible signal. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant staff were also attentive and the food was very good. The hotel is very reasonably priced. It is located on a main road leading into Galway City - a 5 to 10 minute ride to the city depending on traffic. There is plenty of free off street parking, and there is a small shop a few minutes walk away. I would stay there again but only if I was assured of a newly renovated room.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice and clean, excellent food, old part of hotel a bit dated .Very busy with US visitors which is a very good sign. We stayed just 1 night and realy enjoyed the location with its proximity to everything that Galway has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidanRyan577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Me and my friend where there for one night in Flannery's the hotel room was
clean but we were in the old
part of the Hotel the room was outdated and the bathroom
was very small but other that everything was ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathal864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,565 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,076 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,063 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,891 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flannery's Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flannery's Hotel Galway

Property: Flannery's Hotel Galway
Address: Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flannery's Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flannery's Hotel is Galway's finest family run hotel. Facilites include 134 modern luxurious Bedrooms, Frankie's Bar & Bistro, The Galwegian Restaurant and 4 purpose built conference suites. The hotel offer free on-site car-parking and free Wi-fi throughout.The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Galway City and the famous attractions of the West of Ireland including; Connemara, the Aran Islands, the Burren & the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Flannery's Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galway
Galway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing