We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night.The hotel was very busy and yet silent.
No complaints about the room,really was ok apart from the fact that we had to use a fan during a hot night because there wasn't an ac system.
The staff at the reception counter were friendly and eager to assist.
A usual Irish breakfast was satisfactory.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amiram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    419
    208
    77
    52
See reviews for
255
438
69
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Were there last week on a hen do (all of us in our 40's mind!). Relaxed place with really nice staff. I arrived early and asked for a place to iron my dress for the races and as they had no rooms yet they did it for me at no cost - nice touch! I think the rooms and the place deserves a higher than 3 star rating to be fair. With prices in Galway pretty high - especially in race week do your pocket a favour and stay here. Breakfast plentiful and relaxed on finish time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor at the front of the hotel have a lovely view of the bay in the distance. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a wk in Ireland we wanted 2 rooms that were quiet, clean, had hot showers. All these were met. A short drive into a crazy Galway scene (at start of race week) but did find excellent dining later in evening. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Whilst Touring Ireland by car we came across this hotel in Galway and stayed a couple of nights. Reception were very helpful and our room was more than adequate. The hotel is very busy and appears to be a stag/hen party venue at weekends as well as attracting numerous coach parties, but during the week it quietens down.
The bar and restaurant food was very good as were the drinks and service. We were always looked after and made very welcome.
Located near the motorway it is a couple of miles out of central Galway, but taxis are plentiful.
A good hotel for a short visit to Galway and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobAndersonUK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantry
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Went here for the Galway races and stayed for 2 nights and it was just fantastic. The rooms were lovely and clean and very modern, which I didn't expect. We had dinner here 2 evenings and served by Alima ( blonde haired girl with hair in bun), who was so good in the restaurant, and made sure everyone was looked after, she's super to have in any business. The food here was so nice as well which really surprised me, I would definitely recommend this place to stay. Well done to everyone in Flannarys hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank majella066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed for 3nights for the Galway races , I drove over and landed in Galway a lot earlier than expected but I went to book in , hoping they could accommodate me , the duty man on reception ,Connor I think his name is, was very helpful and with his assistance I was settled in and the race week holiday started.
I also needed a work email printed and faxed back , the ladies on reception again could not have been helpful and did it for me .
The breakfast offers the full selection and was very nice.
Nice friendly bar ,which does a very good carvery lunchtimes .
Rooms were spotless and when I asked for an iron it arrived in minutes.
Location is very convenient a five minute drive to the centre ,parking very ample .
On leaving and checking out I made a reservation again for next years race week .
For their service levels is the reason I am doing my first hotel review,well done and keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddyd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. After travelling around all of Ireland for two weeks, this hotel was the most expensive and by far the worst. The hallways reeked of smoke, there were stains on the carpets in the bedrooms, on the bedspreads, and on the sheets. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the room looked like it hadn't been cared for since the 70's when it was built. This was exemplified by the fact that both bedside tables had all of their nails sticking out ready to slice open your skin. We were woken up at 3:30 am by a group of drunk people staying in the room next to us. The walls were paper thin so we heard every loud word spoken until about 5 am. All in all, we were extremely disappointed with this hotel and would not recommend it to anybody. There are many B&B's closer to the city that looked much nicer than this hotel and that do not appear on trip advisor. We thought this hotel was one of our only choices since we booked at the last minute but it turned out that we likely could have stayed at any one of these other places and been much happier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank summer2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
3.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flannery's Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flannery's Hotel Galway

Property: Flannery's Hotel Galway
Address: Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flannery's Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flannery's Hotel is Galway's finest family run hotel. Facilites include 134 modern luxurious Bedrooms, Frankie's Bar & Bistro, The Galwegian Restaurant and 4 purpose built conference suites. The hotel offer free on-site car-parking and free Wi-fi throughout.The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Galway City and the famous attractions of the West of Ireland including; Connemara, the Aran Islands, the Burren & the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flannery's Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galway
Galway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing