We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Used this hotel as a stopover to Waterford. Family room was fab, had a double bed and 2 single beds. A lot of hotels only offer 1 double, 1 single and a pull out bed so nice to have proper beds for all the family. The breakfast buffet was lovely, lots of choice and service was extremely fast. I have to say every staff member we encountered during our brief stay were so welcoming, everyone had a smile and greeted you. Would have no hesitation using this hotel if staying in Galway again, there is a bus to the city center which stops directly outside the hotel. Great hotel, fab staff and lovely food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest, I wish to thank you so much for your most valued custom and for writing such a great review in relation to your recent stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure that the service and facilities that we provide to each of our guests is to the highest possible standard and it is always fantastic to receive such positive customer feedback and see that all our hard work is paying off. I do hope to welcome you back to our hotel at some stage in the future where we will be delighted to once again be of service to you and your husband. Once again my sincere thanks for your most valued custom and we hope you see very soon. Kind regards, Siobhan Farragher, General Manager, Flannery's Hotel Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    431
    212
    83
    51
See reviews for
264
454
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family and I had booked a series of 4-5 star hotels during our 9-day trip to Ireland. This was the only one in the 3-star category, so I had lower expectations. However, we were pleasantly surprised by how clean, efficient and comfortable the hotel was. Our connecting rooms offered enough privacy for a family of four; the beds were comfortable and the room temperature was just right (we soon learned low room temperature can be an issue in Ireland —including in fancy hotels). You can't really walk to Galway City Centre, though. You'll need a car (they have free parking) or take the bus that stops in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KariLore1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest, I am delighted to read your review "Nice Little Hotel near Galway City" and to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Flannery's Hotel Galway and I thank you so much for all your very positive comments in relation to our hotel and our services. We are sincerely grateful for your most valued custom and for taking the time to write such a great review on us. We do hope to welcome you all back to our hotel at some point in the future. Kind regards, Siobhan Farragher, General Manager Flannery's Hotel Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The room was clean, nice and warm. Dinner amazing and breakfast plentiful. The staff was very friendly and corteous. Jacinta at the front desk was very professional. A big thank you to Stephen who served us on dinner and breakfast, great service!! The only down side was that the tv was very small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscila_Brandao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest, I am writing to thank you for completing the lovely trip advisor review on your recent experience at Flannery's Hotel Galway. I am so very happy to learn that Jacinta, our Receptionist and Steven our Restaurant Supervisor looked after you so well and I have passed on your most kind and generous comments to them. Thank you so much for your most valued custom and I hope to see you very soon. Kind regards, Siobhan Farragher, General Manager, Flannery's Hotel Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straffan, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good place to stay. Great breakfast and dinner. Kind staff. Just a suggestion => a good and decent hairdryer available for the customers would be great. The one in the room is very bad quality and if you're using it no one else can use the toilet as it is attached to the wall. If you want a place very close t the centre this is not the place to go, but if don't mind taking a bus there's one in front of the hotel. Overall, good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest, I thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel that you posted on Trip Advisor and for your lovely comments on our breakfast and dinner. I have also taken your comments on board in relation to the hairdryers in our bathrooms. I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend away in Flannery's Hotel Galway and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel at some time in the future. I thank you also for your most valued custom. Kind regards, Siobhan Farragher, General Manager Flannery's Hotel Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from a fab stay at Flannerys hotel in Galway. We were travelling from Wales to celebrate a 30th birthday and were a mixed group of 7. Flannerys is slightly out of Galway centre with a mini bus for 7 costing about 12 euros.

We were welcomed by some really friendly reception staff and then were left to it. The rooms were slightly dated but massive and the shower was fab.

Would definitely recommend Flannerys as a great base when visiting Galway and we would go back again.

Shop Street and Quay streeet were fab for amazing pubs, and Taaffes was fab for live music.Overall really enjoyed our two night break and can't wait to plan another break there soon

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katielh1982264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your 30th Birthday Celebrations our Flannery's Hotel Galway and I thank you so much for you lovely review and for all your very positive comments in relation to our hotel and our staff. We are sincerely grateful for your most valued custom and for taking the time to write such a great review on us. We do hope to welcome you all back to our hotel at some point in the future. Kind regards, Siobhan Farragher, General Manager Flannery's Hotel Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A big thank you to the staff . Sharon/ nicola , front desk we felt very wellcome , rooms spotless , breakfast plenty , great value for money . I would recomend it.we will be back very soon . Well done Flannery's

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSIEDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely trip advisor review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and thank you so much for you lovely words on our receptionists Sharon & Nicola who were so delighted to be so positively mentioned on the review. I do hope that you will come to stay at our hotel at some point in the future and I thank you so very much for you most valued custom. Kind regards, Siobhan Farragher, General Manager, Flannery's Hotel Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Alison took great care of us at the restaurant. The rooms were clean and nice. The room slept 4 of us. The staff was very helpful and when one of our guests didn't make it down for breakfast they gladly took the charge off our bill. There was easy access to the bus into downtown Galway. I. Went back and forth between this and the weston in Galway and decided that the reviews were better for Flannery's so we opted for that option since the reviews seemed better. Good value overall we would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank megpell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely trip advisor review entitled "Great Service at the Restaurant” I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and dining experience at our hotel. All our staff here were so delighted to be so positively mentioned on the review and Alison, our food server, is trilled at her mention. I do hope that you will come to stay at our hotel at some point in the future and from all the team here at Flannery’s Hotel Galway we thank you so very much for you most valued custom. Kind regards, Siobhan Farragher, General Manager, Flannery's Hotel Galway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,522 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,059 reviews
3.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,982 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flannery's Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flannery's Hotel Galway

Property: Flannery's Hotel Galway
Address: Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flannery's Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flannery's Hotel is Galway's finest family run hotel. Facilites include 134 modern luxurious Bedrooms, Frankie's Bar & Bistro, The Galwegian Restaurant and 4 purpose built conference suites. The hotel offer free on-site car-parking and free Wi-fi throughout.The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Galway City and the famous attractions of the West of Ireland including; Connemara, the Aran Islands, the Burren & the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Flannery's Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galway
Galway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing