We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for food and craft beer”
Review of The River Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The River Inn
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for food and craft beer”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Good for food and craft beer.

But it's annoying the amount of people asking you for spare change when you sit at the outdoor seating area. I think the management should have rails, etc around the outdoor seating area so that they won't ask you for money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ananymousmember3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
408 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Last minute choice - good choice!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My son and I were traveling Ireland and ended up in Galway late. He saw the Inn and we were warmly greeted. We sat at the bar to calm down after the drive and enjoyed the barman helping us with our selections. The room was small, but clean. The breakfast was huge and very accommodating for my vegetarian son!

Would certainly look for it again if we were in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidSidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“Good Home Cooking”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We popped in for a meal last weekend and enjoyed good food at very reasonably prices. Easy to locate and ample parking out the back of the building.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankandclodaghn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

when we walked in the barman totally ignores us. He was standing there watching the racing and just wouldnt serve us. After five minutes he eventually asked us what we wanted and made it clear that he wasnt happy to leave his television. We left

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infiesto, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“exceptionally friendly place”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This bar restaurant and small B and B is directly opposite the Galway University hospital. I found it by accident while visiting a seriously ill friend of mine in the hospital. I went in for lunch and was so impressed I booked a room for 5 nights. I understand it has only recently reopened, the owner and all the staff are exceptionally friendly and efficient. There is an interesting menu and a range of daily specials and the food is very well cooked. They have a decent range of beers and wines and the prices are fair. Even the coffee is tasty which I have found is not that common in Irish bars. Staying here has made a very stressful visit to Galway a pleasure. The rooms are basic and small but very clean with a small en-suite shower. There is also good wifi access if you need internet. The bar restaurant customers are visitors to the hospital students and locals. So it is animated without being too noisy. They have a good choice of breakfasts which are included in the price of the room. They also have parking for customers which is very useful as the parking facilities in the hospital are chaotic and expensive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyrl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Inn also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing