We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of Finnegans

Finnegans
Ranked #180 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had breakfast here was great service and great breakfast provided staff were friendly and reasonable prices

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    83
    34
    21
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great craic! authentic irish food!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you want the best food and evening out, this is the place to go! There was a large group of us and forgot to make a reservation, (galway in july is hectic!) there was no problem and pat, the owner (who is a real character!) seated us to a lovely table. I travel a lot but i have to say this place is great!! the food was second to none, loved the atmosphere, the waitresses were really good fun and showed us where to go in galway, could not be more helpful. I thoroughly recommend this place to any couple or group of people who want really good food, great value and a good night out! It's right in the centre of galway, great city, after that, we went down to the 'Bunch of Grapes' pub (recommended by mary in finnegans), everyone had a great night out, looking forward to going there again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food was below average”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff were over attentive and borderline rude.Ate here with my partner and sister food was very hot but tasteless worst food I've had in ages with the choice you have in Galway city I'd suggest you walk on by.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akroscommon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice quaint lunch of traditional Irish Fare”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My Mom, sister and I were walking the streets enjoying the people watching when we cam upon Finnegans and decided to try it for lunch because of the varied selections and great prices. We were not disappointed. I had the special of soup, bacon and cabbage. The veggie soup of the day was wonderful and warmed me up after walking the square on this colder windy day. The cabbage was awesome and the bacon really turned out to be very lean ham. Nice combination that filled me up very quickly. My siste had the club sandwich and said it was great. My Mom had the special of soup and sandwich and said the chicken sandwich could not be beat. The beer was cold like we need it as Americans and the overall experience was nice for lunch. Nthe service staff could use a course in Customer service and learn to smile, other then that it is a great little find tucked along the streets of Galway City.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good food and good service”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

had two meals at finnegans both where very good portions where large and good quality prices where also good keep it up finnegans your doing a great job

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank harrys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnegans also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Finnegans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing