We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar food and great music”

An Pucan Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Bars & Pubs in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An Pucan is now open off Eyre Square. We have live music daily from 9pm. On Fridays and Saturdays we have live bands down the back and on Saturdays we have a late night resident DJ. We are known for our remarkable whiskey collection with over 180 different whiskies from around the world. It is a must-visit for all whiskey enthusiasts. We offer an exceptional Food Menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Whether you are a tourist looking to experience an Irish Breakfast or some great fresh seafood or a local looking for fantastic lunch time value, we have it all. The large menu in An Pucan does not mean a sacrifice in quality so you will not be disappointed. Sports is our passion: Rugby, Soccer, GAA, NFL, Golf, MMA, Ice Hockey, Cricket, Snooker, Sailing, Europeans, Olympics, anything and we mean anything tickles our fancy! We have two large drop down projector screens, and 5 plasmas throughout the venue so no matter where in An Pucan you are standing or sitting we have you covered. Smoking Areas, Dj's, Jameson Features (our Stairway to Heaven & Jameson Piano are both famous) Signed Guitars, Friendly Staff, Craft Beer, Coffees, Teas, Craic.... We have it all! Drop us a visit and if you enjoyed your time please give us a review!
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good bar food and great music”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I got into Galway late and were looking for a place to eat a late dinner. We were fortunate that Frank at Petra House B&B recommended An Pucan - it was a great first night in Galway! The food wasn't the best I've ever had but it was decent and the traditional Irish music was very entertaining! The place was packed and it had a great atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    169
    36
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“so full”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

really ,,lovely Resturant and great staff ,so many choices of dishes ,, we hadn,t booked it , just walked in and it was busy ,but staff where so nice ,, ,,and the food was fab ,,,just telling my friends and family about it ,, and they can,t wait to go there when they go to Galway ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Been here a few times now in recent years visited this last week and was looking forward to it as per normal, atmosphere was very good, with live music playing, though the 2 people this time must have been 2 lads they got to fill in at the last minute.....off the street, there were better musicians on shop st that night playing, well we dined at the back in restaurant area and live music is cleverly piped into the restaurant meaning we did have to listen to them! Well had food and was good as normal, but unlike recent visits there seems to be a lack of prawns around as none was found in my seafood chowder, otherwise service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celtic2inter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Advertised 7 pm music rarely happens”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped in every night to hear the advertised 7 pm Irish music. The one time the music actually occurred, it was American rock. There was music each evening later. Nevertheless a good stop on the way to all the B & Bs up the hill.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Misserino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Decent food and service”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went in to enjoy a craic and heard the Broken Pikers. Good group with a lot of energy.
Ate a decent meal at the bar, but there was so much smoke pouring in from people standing outside the open pub door that I could hardly breathe.
Still, a fun spot with some great locals.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Pucan Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to An Pucan Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing