We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice simple Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Western Restaurant

The Western Restaurant
Ranked #105 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: Irish, European, International, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Western Restaurant in Galway City Centre is the place to be if you want to enjoy good food in a friendly atmosphere. Nestled behind the traditional Irish Pub in a fully restored Georgian Building, The Western Restaurant provides the perfect Galway city centre dining experience with its up to date decor and excellent choice of menu dishes. With its own car parking, our family friendly restaurant is a perfect choice for family lunches, dinners and all other special occasions.
Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A nice simple Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had dinner here last weekend with Hubbie. Nice crowd. Excellent service. Menu not too exciting but food very good. I had chowder and hubbie had chicken wings for starters. We had 10 oz steak for mains which was served with onion rings, chips and salad. For dessert I had Bailey's cheesecake (yum) and hubbie had apple pie. We had a voucher for the main courses so this was a cheap night as starters and dessert are around €5 each.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    37
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“very nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

enjoyed a very nice steak meal here recently ,good solid food,nice staff and excellent service .
no pretentions just a good meal experience
i would go back for more

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raymond090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
663 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Very Good Steak Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant is in the Western Hotel but open to the public. Just a few yards from the top of Eyre Square in the centre of Galway. Pleasant restaurant, well laid out tables with a small bar at the rear of the building. We had a "deal" voucher for 2 steak dinners for 19 euro which represented excellent value. The steak was good without being exceptional but served well with all the trimmings. We did also have a desert. My partner had the cheesecake which was good. I chose the Strawberry & Rhubarb crumble which was with cream on the menu but I requested Custard and this was provided as well as the cream(I didn't use that). Good but too much sugar for me personally. If you have a sweet tooth could be for you. All in all well worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcock, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First night nerves sated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Staying at hotel, so first night included a bottle of wine per room. Four course meal was huge, tasty & cheap. €50 including the tip, only problem, ate too much. Had a much lighter meal the following night in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank murfinsurfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were staying at the hotel and decided not to go out. They had a good selection including vegetarian options. The food was fresh and well prepared, the service attentive without being intrusive, and at a reasonable price. As guests we had a voucher for a bottle of wine which was a better vintage than we expected. Even if you're not staying there, it's worth considering.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nwgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Western Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Western Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing