We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Coffe - Great Food - Great Atmosphere”
Review of Black Cat

Black Cat
Ranked #29 of 483 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffe - Great Food - Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I do agree with some of the reviews that the Black Cat is slightly overpriced, however in my opinion they have the best coffee in Galway and the food is excellent. The building itself is lovely with a great atmosphere, its the kind of place you can sit for hours. Their calamari is some of the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mairead050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    95
    18
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend The Black Cat for Couples & Small Groups”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We ate here on a Saturday night at first sitting. The location is ideal in the center of Salthill. We really liked the chilled atmosphere in the restaurant; lovely lighting and nice jazz music playing in the background. We had a really efficient and friendly waitress and all of the tapas were so flavorsome. The Gambas was the favorite for us both, but we also recommend the crostinis to start. We ordered five tapas between us both and were totally stuffed :-) we also had two desserts,a glass of mimosa, two beers and a liqueur coffee, all for under €90 If I had anything negative to say it would be that at times when the door opened there was a little chill so if its a cold night maybe it would be a suggestion to request a table at the back!! Definite a must visit if your in Galway!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeiraKWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great spot for tapas”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Cosy and welcoming place with delicious tapas. Staff were great. Food a little pricey but tapas tends to be and this was excellent

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummy food but over-priced”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Nice little tapas place in Salthill. The very nature of tapas is small portions of tasty food at a small price. The problem with The Black Cat is that they are charging the price of a full meal for one tapas, which means you can't really order as many as you would like. I also agree that at those prices, the bread should be complimentary, but it isn't. Won't be rushing back, unless the price list changes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank b g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DEVINE!!! ”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I have come here so many times. No other place compares. If you appreciate good quality fresh food this place is right up your alley. Perfect for meeting my friends, date with the boyfriend and also come for family gatherings. You will not regret your choice and that's a guarantee :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Black Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing