We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Tapas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Cat

Black Cat
Ranked #30 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a really fantastic meal at Black Cat. Great tapas with an Irish flair. The serving were surprisingly large in comparison to tapas bars in the US. The black pudding croquettes were my favorite

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drrobrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    86
    17
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ireland meets Poland in Salthill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stopped into the Black cat one evening in July for a beer and ended up being charmed by the jazz music and the ambience of the bar. I had some starters with my companion and sampled two or three of the beers from around Europe that the owner recommended. All in all a really lovely place to eat or just stop and have a drink, right on the sweet-spot of Salthill beside Seapoint

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mylesnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ate at the Black Cat several times and can't wait to come back for my favourite chowder ( the best ever)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DoloresW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good. However, I feel that the prices are a bit much for the type of restaurant it is-it is a casual restaurant, no table cloths etc. Overall, a very pleasant experience but the atmosphere was a bit lacking and again, prices not in-keeping with the style of restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 932NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in such a wonderful small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate at the Black Cat four times in 6 days. It wasn't for want of finding places. This restaurant has a beautiful yEt simple decor, exquisite presentation and fresh, well prepared food. We couldn't recommend it more. It is a little lost in this little town, but they offer great food, warm interactions and fine wine. Go quickly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryEllen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Black Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing