We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed in the radisson for the second time last weekend and were extremely disapointed with the whole experience. we booked it mainly because we got a good deal and they have good car parking for a hotel in the city. Also the Harbour hotel which we usually stay in was closed for christmas.
The room was nothing special. Two lights did not work and the shower door on the bath was broken so the water went everywhere.
The breakfast is awful. They have a huge selection but none of it is good. The "hot" food was cold.
The lifts to the rooms are a pain because there where children going up and down in them so you had to wait a long time to get the lift and there are only two.
Overall I wont be going back to the radisson. I think they need to bring the standard back up as it is a bit grubby for my liking.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,571)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,292 - 2,298 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2008

This is a great hotel. Good location,quiet, nice bar, good restaurant for breakfast, really easy parking and an excellent sports facility with beautiful pool, out door hot tub and decent gym area. It is a Radisson so it isn't exactly bursting with imaginative touches, and has those disgusting pots of slime passing as toiletries in the bathroom, but it is a good Radisson!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CaTxEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

The Radisson name comes with a whole lot of expectations and we have stayed in quite a few..but Galway's Radisson is not deserving of the 4 stars..
Check in was cold and functional..
This was supposed to be a treat for my fiance after we had made it official..
I really was embarassed and I felt I let her down by staying here but she's the ''Thought that counts'' kinda girl thankfully

One expects a little comfort and privacy for 200 a night and the room we were given had such thin walls it was like a motel in an American movie and in our case we heard much too much from the next rooms..

On top of this the so called musician at the piano just kept screaming his head off and was so loud we could hear him in our room..It wasn't even good loud..
We did try a drink around the piano earlier that evening but mutually decided very promptly to go to the back bar which was also a bit manic but less so.
We could still hear the''piano player''
We asked the bar staff if this was normal and they sighed with a yes

Our night was like a bad movie overall..but after a few hours sleep we decided to eat up and get out..
The breakfast staff seemed in a very bad mood.
The food was average and served without grace


We had considered another night there but promptly checked out and headed for a B&B in Clifden, Connemara

On the whole it is quite a smart looking place..
But you're not a person here, you're just a credit card number..
And for the price paid I feel very ripped off.

Our B&B just outside Clifden was a breath of fresh air after this..
Won't be staying at the Radisson here or anywhere again..
We love Galway so any hotel suggestions please contact me

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank patrick887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Stayed over whilst on a one night business trip. Good hotel at a competitive price. The room was spacious with a Queen Double, but the best thing were the bar staff. Excellent service and a good chat before we walked into Galway centre for a meal.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMuscatFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

I had come in for a business meeting. The lobby area is a wonderful are to meet people. I understand they had just finished a renovation to it, and it is a warm and cozy place. It makes you want to stop and stay awhile.
My check in was fast and very friendly. The staff were very helpful and attentive. I had a lunch meeting in the Marinas restuarant and I must say that is was wonderful experience. Everyone can choose exactly what they want to get from the selection of the Le Marche.
Since I was footing the bill it was a very economical way to do business.
The room was beautiful. When I booked they told me the hotel was under renovations, but I never heard anything to bother my stay. My room was lovely and over looked the water. I can not wait to see what the new rooms will look like.
The facilities were great. It was so nice after a long day to work out in the gym and take a swim.
I did not have time to take any spa treatments, but I definatly will upon my return to the hotel. I did pop in to buy some of my favorite skin care products from them. They have a nice selection in stock.
My overall experience with this hotel was first rate and WILL be going back any time I am back in Galway.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KPTX33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

I just had to write about the fantastic weekend I had with my sisters and friends for my hen party in November of this year.

I had been to Galway a few times before, but had never stayed in the Radisson. To me it seemed to be a very new hotel and building but I could see from entering the lobby area that they were in the process of giving a lovely hotel a little spruce up!!

The very friendly Front Office staff assured me that the renovations were cosmetic and would not interfere with our stay during the weekend, and she was right. No work went on over Saturday and Sunday and any little ladders ect were removed from the lobby area.

We had a FANTASTIC dinner on the Friday night and the resteraunt staff really looked after us all night and made sure our bottle of wine never ran dry!

On Saturday morning, after an utterly filling breakfast we arrived in Spirit One Spa. Some of the girls were being a bit cautious with their money with the "Recession" and they got a fantastic deal for 4 hours in the Thermal Suite where they could relax for the morning while myself and a few others had amazing treatments. The girls were so nice in there and made sure we were all looked after.

As a bride to be, I can honestly say I will be bringing my new hubby here for a romantic getaway as soon as possibe

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Stayed here for two nights whilst on business in Galway last month.

The room was very nice and very comfortable. It was handy to have the car parking available at the hotel.

The service for breakfast was a bit slow and the buffet is plentiful, but was a bit over cooked and dry.

In general I enjoyed my stay - I just felt that service and staff friendliness were not as good as they could be.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DublinJRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,823 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,965 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway

Address: Lough Atalia Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $170 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed the best of all worlds when you stay at the luxurious four star Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Galway. Scenic Galway Bay views, luxury city centre hotel accommodation, excellent food, world class spirit one spa & leisure facilities, superb conference & meeting venue and elegant wedding facilities.Take advantage of some of Galway's great shopping streets, making it easy to explore the area's best attractions and fit some shopping in along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Galway
Radisson Hotel Galway
Radisson Galway
Galway Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Galway
Radisson Sas Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing