We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“February Weekend in Galway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“February Weekend in Galway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend in Galway. We stayed in the Radisson from Friday 14th to Monday 17th. I had read a variety of reviews on the hotel - not all complimentary. We arrived on Friday, early afternoon, there was no problem and our room was ready (about 14.00). The hotel was easy to find, however directions to the car park were a bit confused. It is a public car park - which can get very crowded, especially on Friday night/ Saturday, as it is very close to town. The hotel will validate your parking ticked and will charge you 5 Euro per night on departure - good value, as the car park appears to be secure and has a direct stairs to the hotel. We stayed in an executive room on the 5th floor. Some of the doors on the way to our room looked a bit worn & battered, however our room was top class. Big, roomy with French doors leading to a small balcony. The bathroom was huge, with a walk-in shower and a separate bath. There was no window in the bathroom, however it was very well lit. The entire room was well lit & there were excellent reading lights on either side of the bed head. A very comfortable bed. There was also a good sized desk and the room had two arm chairs and a settee. Breakfast was included in or overall price - it was excellent with a huge range of food, both hot and cold available. The staff were all very friendly & helpful. My wife particularly enjoyed the pool area with it's outdoor jacuzzi. We only had one evening meal in the hotel - just bar food, which was good quality. The total cost for our weekend was 535 Euro - not cheap, however for a once off special occasion I was quite happy to pay the price. The hotel is very central - just a 5 min walk from the centre of town. I hope to use the hotel again, however I may try to get better value for money and choose a cheaper option next time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to express my appreciation for you writing this review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the special occasion which you spent with us.

It is great to hear that you will return in the future.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back up upon your return.


Best wishes ,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    822
    338
    155
    99
See reviews for
398
940
77
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Galway Radisson is a really slick and really well run hotel. The two best things it has going for it are: (1.) it is really central, and (2.) it is buzzing. Unlike so many places in Ireland, Galway and the Radisson have kept attracting visitors and kept the party going. It is not cheap but if you can get a deal you should snap it up because it's a real treat to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Galway and you will be back very soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend break. Great hotel, excellent staff and service. Food in the restaurant perfect as was the bar food we enjoyed the second night. Would certainly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Business class rooms all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review.

It is always such a pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their time with us.

I hope that we will now be your first choice for any future trips to Galway.

Best wishes and thank you,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had a very comfortable one night stay in this hotel and got great value for money at 83 Euro B&B for one person in a double room. My room was spacious, clean, quiet and nicely furnished.
Staff were very welcoming and professional. The parking was great and everything worked fine (no lift problems). Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. I ate in town that night but had an amazing dessert back in the hotel, chocolate and orange bread and butter pudding. A treat!
I would certainly stay here again, but only if the price is right as there other great options also in Galway city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I am delighted to read that you were so pleased with you stay and I hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Galway.

Many thanks and best wishes,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Positive great city centre location and well that's it based on our weekends stay.
Custom Service front desk was very poor, no welcome to the Radisson or when checking out no thank you for staying, no explanation of services or facilities. The car park was charged on a hour rate or €5 for an over night stay. So if you use your car during the day you have to pay the hourly rate. The queues for the lift was also an experience due to the other being broke. The empty buckets and numerous caution signs in the lobby were fun to tip toe around heading the restaurant.
Spa treatment was very poor. The spa, as an area was cold, our reception into and out of the spa was non-existing even though their was approx. 8 employees chatting behind the counter, the floor was dirty, we had to request the bathrobes, than request lock keys, no water or tea etc. What was meant to be a nice experience for us turned out to be a bit of a disaster. The whole experience was very disappointing.
Before writing this review my wife emailed the hotel directly with her views which were outlined in greater detailed than above so hopefully our issue could be addressed so the next costumer would not share our experience. To date this email has not received a reply.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciarán G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and for offering your detailed feedback through email.

I believe our General Manager has been in contact in response to your email. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you did not have the experience you expected upon your recent stay with us.

I hope that you will accept our apology and will consider taking us up on our offer.

Please do not hesitate to contact me or indeed any of our management team should you require any assistance in the future.

sarah.omahony@radissonblu.com

Many thanks and best wishes,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just back from a weekend break with my partner. I must say I had mixed feelings about this hotels reviews so wasn't sure what to expect. We arrived at the hotel early and we're welcome by friendly receptionist Charlene. She gave us a map of the city recommending places to eat and drink. The rooms were modern with an amazing bed. Breakfast is well worth the value. Plenty to choose from. We booked into the thermal suite on sat morning which was another wonderful experience. As per previous reviews the only negative comment on the hotel is the lift. For a large volume of guests one lift in operation is not functional especially at check out time. Overall an amazing experience and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cizfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Socail Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to say thank you for writing such a lovely review of our hotel.

It is great to get such fantastic feedback.

I would like to let you know that our lift has been repaired since your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Best wishes,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night 7th feb
Great room comfortable bed , daire on the front desk was so nice made us feel very welcome
We rang the desk asking for a text at 7pm it was there when we got to the lobby
But the staff in the morning for breakfast were brilliant the man running the breakfast was funny charming and very easy to talk to

Wonderful, picture perfect can't wait to return

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank louisegordet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for this lovely review.

We always love to get such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Address: Lough Atalia Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed the best of all worlds when you stay at the luxurious four star Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Galway. Scenic Galway Bay views, luxury city centre hotel accommodation, excellent food, world class spirit one spa & leisure facilities, superb conference & meeting venue and elegant wedding facilities.Take advantage of some of Galway's great shopping streets, making it easy to explore the area's best attractions and fit some shopping in along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Galway
Radisson Hotel Galway
Radisson Galway
Galway Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Galway
Radisson Sas Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing