We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slick, friendly hotel in the centre of Galway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night with friends. We requested a triple room which was very spacious and nicely decorated. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We did have a problem with our shower not draining late one night -the receptionist tried to help and sent someone up to check. They promised to come up early in the morning and didn't but the problem resolved itself. Breakfast was lovely, a step above the usual hotel food, and the outdoor hottub was amazing.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank efay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Executive at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments and feedback about your recent stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that our guests are happy and we appreciate you choosing the Radisson Blu Galway for your break away.

Apologises for the problem with your shower, I hope this did not cause you too much inconvenience.

I hope you will come back and visit us again very soon.
Kind Regards,
Jennifer Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,724 - 1,730 of 2,624 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just arrived back from staying for the weekend. Payed 400 euro for business class and was not worth it! There were belongs from other guests left in the room so obviously was no cleaned right! Expecting turn down service there was none in friday night and i said to reception so on saturday evening the girl left water and a sweet but did not turn down the bed! When the room was cleaned on saturday they did not replace the dirty glasses in the room we had. To be honest i was hoping for a bit of luxury but didnt get i! Veery disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma7617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Executive at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to read your comments and apologise on behalf of the hotel for letting you down. I understand your frustration with regards to the room and appreciate you bringing these points to our attention. We have just added new business class rooms to our hotel offering and these comments will certainly be given of the Housekeeping Manager for review.

I hope you will not let this experience deter you from staying with us in future, I know we can provide the level of hospitality you deserve.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at the Rad Blu for 2 nights in late June. I took advantage of the 10E per night upgrade to a higher floor and have a feeling it was a good thing. The higher floors are recently renovated. It was a very nice room on the end of the wing with two wonderfully large windows, but for having been recently renovated it was showing a few small signs of wear and tear already. However, if I hadn't been told it had been renovated, I doubt I would have even noticed. There is a minibar in the room as well as the standard tea/coffee - but I was concerned about disturbing the sensored items and accidentally being charged for things as I used the fridge for my own food.

The location is very handy to the Galway train station, just about 1 1/2 blocks out the side exit for the buses. It's about 3-4 blocks from Eyre Square - not much of a walk at all. From there it's an easy walk down to the bay via Shop St (where I enjoyed a wonderful Sat afternoon listening to the buskers).

If the weather is nice, be sure to take advantage of the terrace off of the main lobby for nice views over the lough and some sea breezes.

If you're a breakfast person, the breakfast buffet at the Rad is great! By happenstance I think it was included with my upgraded room and I took advantage of a nice meal on my second morning.

Hats off to Colm at the reception desk who seemed to be there everytime I stopped by. He was very friendly and able to answer all of my questions about getting around town.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a view over the lough. Take a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whovian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Executive at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your fantastic comments. It is great to such a positive review and it mean a lot to us that you took the time to share your experience with everyone here on TripAdvisor.

Colm will be delighted with your comments, thank you.

I hope you had a wonderful holiday and that the next time you are in Galway that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a Fodor's Choice recommendation but it is not my choice at all. We stayed 2 nights and I could not wait to move on to our next stay. I long ago quit staying in Radisson's in the US, and I can see that Radisson in Europe is having the same decline in standards.
Upon checking in we found debris left over from the prior guest (since we did not have anything with yellow feathers). The wood frame around the bathroom door is splitting and warped, and it took 3 calls to get the "non-slip" rubber mat brought up for the tub. The room was warm and stuffy and I would expect a hotel like this to have adequate air conditioning.
The breakfast was a mess. Dirty tables everywhere and they were very understaffed.
On a more positive note the staff made 2 great recommendations for dinner and at the desk they were very helpful. Not so much in the lounge though. They seemed kind of put out that we actually showed up to have a glass of wine. The location was good though with a reasonable walk to the shopping and restaurants of Galway.
Do yourself a favor and find another hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Executive at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so disappointed reading your comments as it seems we have let you down and I can assure you this was never our intention. As you can see from other reviews here on the site, we are thankful that the majority of our guests are happy with our property and services and we apologise if you did not feel the same about your stay.

We are currently rolling out refurbishment within the hotel, bedrooms, lobby and restaurant and are looking forward to our new look, which will certainly live up to the 4* standards you have come to expect from Radisson Blu.

I hope you will not let this experience deter you from staying with the Radisson Blu group in future. We offer a 100% Guest Satisfaction Promise to each one of our guests and will not let you down again.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great firm king size mattress with all the amenities anyone could want. Included breakfast is really nice and includes everything from fuits and cereals to eggs and bacon and sweets. Will definitely stay here the next time we are there. It was nice to get back to a modern hotel after some bed and breakfast places. Each has their own charm but we were ready for firmer beds and in room temperature controls.

Never new about the Radisson BLU line of hotels. I must say they really changed my impression of Radisson. Staff were very helpful as well. Great place and location. Just a short walk to the city center with all the pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Executive at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to Galway. It is great to hear such positive feedback and it is wonderful to see the Radisson Blu Brand worldwide has impressed you!

I hope you will come back and visit us again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

A very spacious, bright and shiny hotel that makes one really happy to be away from home:) Totally suitable for the purpose of a romantic night away.

Our room was in the West End (or was it East End), a walk and a few lift trips away. Not a problem for well organised holiday makers, however, a long and lonely walk back to the car for anything left behind. On the other hand, the room in That End was really peaceful. I personally loved the corner window and duvets.

Needless to say that the standard of hygiene was high.

AND:
Breakfast was great. Start well with fruit only to get greedy and find yourself at the hot containers...simultaneously hoping to grab a few of those tiny sweet pastries on the way to your table...and then send your partner for more:)) and be disappointed when he brings back some grapes:)

BUT:
The main lifts are a nightmare, never seem to stop or head your direction, it takes ages to get into one...plenty of time to examine the condition of your luggage whilst queuing to hop on:)


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Executive at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us all. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and means a lot to us that you took the time to upload your thoughts here.

You will have to come back and visit us again very soon. We promise you a lovely room close to the lifts, with a sea view.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Galway in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a two night stop on a globus tour and we were so pleased with the choice. The rooms were nicely sized and the beds were comfortable. The location was great. It was about a ten minute walk into town and there were plenty of pubs close by. Visited the Galway Cathedral and had dinner in McDonaghs - great fish and chips, would certainly recommend this hotel for a stay in Galway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmc1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Executive at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is great to hear such lovely comments from our tour group visitors. I hope the rest of the group enjoyed their stay as much as you did. Galway is a great city and we are always delighted when our tour groups are impressed with the hotel and our location.

I hope the next time you are in Galway that you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Duggan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,084 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,308 reviews
0.7 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,881 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
1,693 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway

Address: Lough Atalia Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $144 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed the best of all worlds when you stay at the luxurious four star Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Galway. Scenic Galway Bay views, luxury city centre hotel accommodation, excellent food, world class spirit one spa & leisure facilities, superb conference & meeting venue and elegant wedding facilities.Take advantage of some of Galway's great shopping streets, making it easy to explore the area's best attractions and fit some shopping in along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Galway
Radisson Hotel Galway
Radisson Galway
Galway Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Galway
Radisson Sas Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing