We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salthill Caravan Park
Ranked #43 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the owner &we had a pleasant check in & we received a free voucher book which had lots of discounts to use in the Galway area. We thought this was a nice touch.then we were shown to our pitch. Our pitch had fantastic view of the ocean. The park itself looked like it had been newly tarmac'd & paved.the facilities on site were extremely clean & there was plenty of hot water despite the comments in previous reviews. There is also a lovely kids playground with swings & slides etc. We found the staff on site very pleasant & helpful.they couldn't have done anything else to make our stay a relaxing & peaceful one. There is also a security guard at nite which made us feel very secure. The location is great with a beautiful walk by the ocean to the center of salthill. There was also free WiFi on site. Overall I could not fault this beautiful well maintained caravan park & we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean o, Owner at Salthill Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
hi there
thank you for your review we are glad that everything was ok on site and the management helped you with your stay and made it feel like you were at home hope to see you again soon
regards
sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    27
    29
    34
See reviews for
60
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The park was very clean and tidy. But to ensure there is no confusion in placing your tent in the right area or pitch, you need to get the owner to show you exactly where to pitch.

On entering the site and booking in we was informed to pitch anywhere but questioned this with the same reply returning, we did and on finishing we was told to movie it because it wasn't in the right place! following a few choice words from the owner and foul language we was asked to move our things to another pitch in an unprofessional manor.

I will never return and advice other to think twice as they don't deserve the custom.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary d, Owner at Salthill Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
we are glad you liked the site but as regard your issue on location you were told pick your own place anywhere you like but dont go in between mobile homes but you chose to camp outside someones caravan door which impeded his access so there for you were asked to move to a different location there was no issue of foul langauge.the fact was that you did not like to be moved.anyhow enjoy your trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Location was great for us, with lovely views over Bay. Very peaceful. Pitches can be windy, if weather is not favourable (but it is Ireland). No hot water in bathrooms but owner has said on previous review it takes time to come through
New tarmac on all pitches
Clean shower & toilet blocks (extra € for showers). No warning that showers are going to finish so ladies, rinse hair quickly
Galway City 20 min walk / cycle along prom
Salthill Fish and Chips was amazing! Almost as good as the North East of Scotland Chippers

One observation after going to trouble of retaring site it would have been good if the motorhome service point had a drive over grate for grey water waste

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean o, Owner at Salthill Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
hi there
we are glad you enjoyed your stay each hard stand has its own grey water disposal point,and at the service bay it also has one also for health and safety reasons we cannot put a grate in middle of stand as people may slip and fall.i am glad you enjoyed what salthill had to offer,hope to see you again soon have a good trip
regards
sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This campsite was clean, great location by the sea, and reasonable value. There is no campers kitchen so if you want to make tea a camping stove is a requirement, and there is a charge for hot water to wash up, there is no hot water in the toilet block which is a bit of a concern! I'd recommend taking a camping stove kettle and flask to keep hot water for washing up, washing hands and warm drinks. The games room wasn't open as it was too early in the season. I've stopped in better equipped parks, but it was clean and the location was lovely and salthill and Galway are easy to get to from the campsite, I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl33r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean o, Owner at Salthill Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
hi there
thank you for your nice review on the caravan park we are sorry about the hot water but i can assure you that its there it just the fact of not being busy it takes longer to push out the cold water but however we hope to see you again
regards
sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The camp ground is conveniently located on the city bus line - take bus 402 to salthill - the bus drops you off a the street from the entrance sign. I traveled on a thursday in rush hour and it took a little over 20 minutes to get there and $1.80€ for the fair - on my return trip to the city centre it look 10 minutes. There is a beautiful view from the park. Bathrooms are clean and enough sink to brush your teeth and tend to yourself in the morning. The person who checked me in was polite and helpful. For $9€ it is a great value - just wish i would have waited until the summer to try it out.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokin2ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean o, Owner at Salthill Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
hi there
thank you for your nice review and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip see you again sometime
regards
sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just back from Salthill after weekend We were plesently surprised with all the work that has been done on the campsite It is really lovely with the tarmac road and pitches. This campsite has a great location by the sea with a walkway which takes you to the salthill prom. The owners are very friendly and helpful and have done a great job in upgrading the campsite. Best of luck to all

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DullaghanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean o, Owner at Salthill Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
hi there sorry for the detail on replying thank you for your review and your kind words on the park hope to see you agian soon
regards
sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have been guests at Salthill Caravan park in previous years and have always enjoyed it and found it to be a great location on the seafront. This was our first trip here this year, both my wife and I and our baby daughter in our caravan and my parents in their camper. When entering the campsite it was so obvious that the campsite had been totally transformed. We checked in and were greated with the usual friendly and helpful welcome from the excellent staff, { they never forget a face}, when driving down the site to our pitch the extent of the transformation was very evident , I can only describe the campsite as stunning with its beautiful new tarmac roads and pitches all of which are seperated with lovely curbing and newly sown grass. The playground was fantastic with the added baby swings which my daughter loved proved to be very popular. The place was immaculate from the grounds to the bathroom facilities etc. I can't recommend the place enough and it will give plenty of other campsites a run for their money. Well done guys and thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sean o, Owner at Salthill Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
thank you very much for that kind review and hope to se you and family again soon bring the weather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galway
0.7 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,471 reviews
17.0 mi away
Galway Glamping
Galway Glamping
#6 of 58 in Galway
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park
20.6 mi away
Quiet Man Cong Caravan & Camping Park
0.1 mi away
Fourwinds Lodge
Fourwinds Lodge
#72 of 187 in Galway
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Caravan Park

Property: Salthill Caravan Park
Address: Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing