We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food - amazing staff”

The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely food - amazing staff”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went here for a hangover lunch on new year's day... didn't realise how huge the place was until I tried to find the toilets! We were in a lovely seat near a roaring fire, and had a great lunch: a chicken caeser salad and a burger w/chips. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient - they are a credit to the place. Food is great pub food and good value for money. You'll see plenty of backpackers in here soaking up the atmosphere - a great place to go.
Would I return? Certainly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle_M7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    230
    50
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food , Reasonable , Great staff”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My first time eating here and i will be back.

What we ordered:

Roast of the day (Lamb)
Meat was very tasty , lovely flavour and seasoning. Came with a nice big portion of mash , meat and veg. One of the nicest roasts i've had in Galway. The plate was hot and so was the food. All round excellent.

Chicken Goujons
Came with a nice side salad , chips and the chicken itself was very tasty,

They do a resonable set menu after 5pm. Which we would have taken if we had known :)

Staff very friendly and the place has a great atomsphere.

I would eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishGalwayLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best bar in Galway”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I go to the front door a lot,.rearly disappointed,Bar service excellent,door man are sound esp Cronin,Great atmosphere always even Tho I don't always how it ends!!

Helpful?
Thank smithers180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good choice for a laid-back meal”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a great spot to go to for a late lunch or early dinner. Food quality is excellent, service is usually quick and friendly and it's a lively spot for people-watching if that's your thing! The only issue I had was the last time I had a late lunch here with a friend: on payment, we were charged for drinks which we most definitely had not ordered, when I corrected the error the barman (not our server) would not believe me (even though there were no drinks orders noted on our bill, he insisted that he had seen us with drinks). The situation was resolved eventually, when our server confirmed that I was not lying! Maybe he was just having a bad day..? A strange way to treat customers. I would advise you to make sure that your server takes payment for your bill!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDoor, Manager at The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
With regards to the request for payment of drinks not ordered, we are very sorry to hear about this. We have spoken to bar staff in question and it was a misunderstanding that he again offers his apologies for. We are happy to hear that you enjoy visiting us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great lively pub with friendly staff and a good value menu.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Ate here recently with a group of friends and really enjoyed my visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu was exactly what you would want from a bar menu and the food was delicious. Great decor with loads of little nooks to sit in. Really value and would have no problem recommending this pub to anyone and am looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing