We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ate there both nights, we were so pleased with our experience. Food and drink was tasty, generous portions, and fairly priced. Those wanting to watch sports will be pleased, but also very nice for dining. Hard wood, mirrors, well decorated, yet comfortable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sborodolfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    230
    50
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best pub food in Galway”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been to Galway twice in two years and we were taken to Sonnys for lunch. It was by far the best pub and best pub food I have been too. Great atmosphere with very comfortable seating. All the staff were very good and the food was excellent. As soon as you walk in you know it's a special place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a couple of times, nice evening drinks in a really good atmosphere. Went for lunch and excellent service, excellent food and really good value. Well recommended and staff were excellent, and went out if their way to help.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Micassg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never Lets Me Down”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is the place I go after every shopping trip with friends and have actually spent about 3 hours just sitting eating, having coffee and chatting away not realising how time has just gone by!Staff are amazing, so bubbly friendly and efficient, I've never had bad service here, the staff spot you the minute you come in the door and offer you menu's and a drink, you don't have to be looking around wondering how service works. I have never had to wait more than 20 minutes for food so if you are in a rush you can guarantee you will be served efficiently but like me I like to chill out have coffee sometimes I go overboard and have dessert but nobody ever bothers you or makes you feel like they need the table you are just left alone after you have been served and all plates have been cleaned away.The menu is very diverse even the fussiest of eaters are catered for, and the portions are more than enough, I have never left the place feeling hungry even after just a sandwich, they are just massive and value for money is just top of the list.Easily I have eaten here about 100 times and I can't help but keep going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ButtonsMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub........But be hungary”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stumbled on Sonnys Front Door while strolling down High Street and decided to have our evening meal there.A Nice informal friendly restaurant with a good atmosphere, this restaurant is well worth a visit. My husband and I both had Fish Cakes for starters which were HUGE. Lovely but I was almost full after them. I then had the Burger and black pepper which again was HUGE. It was very tasty but I could only eat half of it. Hubby had Irish stew which he enjoyed. He then had Apple Pie which was a HUGE portion.
If you are really hungry and want good tasty food then definately Sonnys is well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing