We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not be fooled!!!”

The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 470 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do not be fooled!!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Once through the front door this pub went on and on, not to mention an upstairs too. Has separate bars in each section....very clever!!!!
Great food great prices!
Entertainment every night !
Great staff as well....very friendly!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    230
    50
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favourite pub for meals”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We ate here every evening on our last trip to galway. The food is gorgeous. And since Galway is so expensive we were trying to have one good meal a day. We certainly werent disappointed by the portions! I love the layout of the pub too, little seating areas everywhere! even has two entrances which confused me at first lol, looks like a different pub depending on which way you come in!
my only criticism is that soft drinks were ridiculously priced! and i dont like to drink alcohol with meals

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kir87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow. Who said Irish food was bad?”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stopped in here with my wife for a pint and some dinner. I had the chicken with mashed potatoes and she had the beef and Guinness stew. Holy moly. This was exquisite and exactly what we were looking for. Decently priced and good service. You'll be glad you stopped in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DFC12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Favourite!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely bar and restaurant! Great food, I love their chicken wings!! Always a place to sit, waiters were lovely! Definitely recommend it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank youngmcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fantastic atmosphere”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Myself and my husband had dinner here on a Friday afternoon, the staff were very friendly and provided us with menus and drinks within minutes of us sitting down. The menu was very well varied and reasonable price. They had about ten extra "specials" of the day pinned to the menu so lots to choose from. I'd loin of pork on a bed of Mashed postatoe with Black pudding mixed through it, it was divine! My husband had the house burger and between us we both managed to clean our plates!
We returned the following night for drinks after dinner somewhere else and we sat up at the bar, bar man was very friendly and kept conversation with us the whole night even when it got busy later on... Great music in the background and very good late bar atmosphere... would def return for food or drinks....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryiswhatilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Front Door Sonny's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing