We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent!!!”

Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 503 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This was an outstanding meal, really enjoyable! Myself and my Dad booked a table here for our last evening in Galway after reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.

We arrived at 7.45 and the restaurant was quiet although the bar area was busy. The restaurant itself is lovely, we were seated at a table near the window near the kitchen (and see that everything was being freshly cooked!)

The service was good, we were served by both a waitress and another waiter who were equally friendly and attentive. We weren't waiting very long between meals.

It was the food that really deserved the 5 stars. We didn't have starters, decided to opt for mains and desserts.

I had pan fried silver hake with samphire, pressed potatoes in a garlic mussel sauce. Every aspect of the dish was truly delicious and it went well together. The hake was cooked to perfection, completely melt in mouth! The potatoes were delicious and quite a big portion. My Dad had chilli prawn linguini in a crab meat cream and that was also excellent. Cooked well, hot and a generous portion.
We both had a berry torte served with ice cream,fresh berries and fruit coulis. It was delightful, light and warm and with the cold ice cream an excellent combination. A perfect end to the meal!

We both left full and satisfied after an excellent dining experience. It was reasonably priced, total bill coming to around €45 for the two main courses and desserts and a glass of wine and a pint.

If I am in Galway again I would definitely return!

4  Thank Niamh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hi Niamh A,

Thank you for your recent review and the time and effort you put into writing it. We were all delighted to read such a well put together review.

If you ever return to Galway, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Martin Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 388 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I had with friends lovely food there but only thing I can say it was wrong - size of portions, they were for kids maybe not for adults, 1h after, we had to go and eat again which is not great, specially prices are for big portions

2  Thank qwfefeqf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hi qwfefeqf,

Thank you for your recent review and happy that you remarked that the food was great. Unfortunately, you felt that the portion sizes were small. This is not something that we are known for in Sheridans and were suprised. The majority of feedback we receive from customers is in relation to the quality and value that we provide and we can't provide value with small portions. We would love if you gave Sheridans another visit as I am sure you will be more than satisfied.

Thanks again for the review and your feedback will be reviewed by our restaurant team.

Kind Regards,

Martin Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is quite a big place with plenty seating upstairs and it was near to our hotel, The Clybaun. It has a good menu and was reasonably priced. We all had various pizzas and they were large and the nice thin variety. The service was good too. Great for families.

3  Thank llilaclinds111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hi llilaclinds111,

Thank you for your recent review, and we're delighted to and your family enjoyed for visit to Galway and as part of that, your visit to Tom Sheridans.

Kind Regards,

Martin Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Food here is good and staff are pleasant, setting is nice inside but the restaurant upstairs is just too hot with no windows for heat to escape although would be nice on a winters evening but uncomfortable on a warm evening in august

1  Thank skybus320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hi Johno11,

Thanks for your recent review, and we're glad that you enjoyed the food and service provided. You did have an issue with the air conditioning in the restaurant area on our top floor and we appreciate that due to the layout of the restaurant, it may become warm during the summer.
We have 6 windows in our restaurant area but as we also have full air conditioning, we tend not to open them as it would limit the capability of the air conditioning unit. Unfortunately, we are sometimes asked to turn off the air con by customers who feel it makes the room too cold and this may have happened during your visit.

Thanks for the feedback and we will continue to monitor this situation in the future.

Kind Regards,

Martin Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place and so busy!!Food was gorgeous and staff were efficient.There was plenty of them too unlike other places we visited so service was quick.Portions a TINY bit small but delicious!

2  Thank Keefy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dail B, Manager at Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hi Keefy11,

Thanks for your recent review, we're glad you enjoyed it so much and take on board your thoughts on the portion size, we appreciate all feedback from customers, its how we measure ourselves and try to improve.

Sincere Regards,

Martin Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Tom Sheridan's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing