We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly foodhouse for family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kai

Kai
Ranked #10 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Friendly foodhouse for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

An unpretentious place, with a lively atmosphere. Quick waiters, busy kitchen, large portions and very tasty food. What you get here is local produce, and dishes composed of what the season brings to Galway. The old chef from Nimmo´s has taken over the pans here, and that shows! Very good value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stein54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    154
    57
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing - a must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Amazing, fresh innovative food. Delicious cakes & other baked goodies. Great service. Reasonably priced. Do not visit Galway without going to Kai! Home made Fish Fingers are my favourite!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Serialc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New fave eatery in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We got a tip-off to head here from a friend, and seeing as the dinner menu was a bit pricey for us we decided to try Kai for lunch on our first day of two in Galway. Oh boy, were we glad we did!! My new favourite eatery in Galway, and possibly Ireland overall.

Fresh, local ingredients and a menu that changes daily to suit these ingredients. Food was superbly presented, well thought out and everything went together brilliantly. Coffee and cake were both superb too, making our visit a highlight of our trip!

I'll be making a concerted effort to visit Kai every time I head out to the West now, and it was so good that we went back the next day for lunch before we left on our journey home!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kai, nice but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Managed to get a late seating on a Friday night in Galway. It was a lovely meal albeit a little pricey. However I do believe in that you get what you pay for and the food was local, fresh and delicious and value for money.

The restaurant itself had a great atmosphere and the generally the staff were attentive and the service was good. Chap with the moustache was a bit off but didn't deter from the enjoyment.

Nice menu, changed daily in a good surrounding, if you're a foody then you'll love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whiskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
175 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a terrific little restaurant on a quiet street on the west side of Galway, out of the hustle and bustle of the center of town. It's small, with beautifully set tables, lots of fresh flowers, an open kitchen, creative lighting, and a stone floor, which makes it feel both old and contemporary at once. We went early, but the place filled up quickly with eager diners. It's a small menu, with a few fish and meat and vegetarian entrees, wonderful appetizers (we have the wild salmon and avocado, superb) and lovely desserts. Nice wine selection, casual and caring service . . . one of the best places we've eaten not just in Galway, but anywhere in the world.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JSD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing