We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flavour of the month”
Review of Kai

Kai
Ranked #12 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, New Zealand
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“flavour of the month”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Shamus and i had lunch here a few weeks ago the restaurant is a real funky little spot . menu was really nice, food was unreal . i ordered a fish pie with side salad i didn't want it to end . Incredible infusion of tastes all blending together to create amazing flavours using beautiful ingredients ...... staff really friendly ......lovely to see it busy .well recommended restauranr and well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    160
    61
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A local favourite!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have yet to be anything but entirely impressed with Kai - have brought an eclectic group of friends and family here over the past two years and the feedback has always been more than positive. Wholesome, varied menu (the feta and spinach filo pastry being a personal favourite), consistently friendly staff and a fantastic building makes it my Galway favourite. Recently, following a lengthy lunch with friends on a busy Saturday, on paying the bill, my friends and I were given complimentary scones to take home as they were closing between lunch and dinner menus - a very nice touch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HighTailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place to dine with gorgeous food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Headed by a female chef from New Zealand, the food at Kai is one of the best and most creative fusion restaurant I've ever been. The food not only has big and balanced flavours, but also beautifully dressed or decorated. The Chocolate and Mongo cake I had had interesting texture (the mongo mouse) and great exotic flavours. The 42 below kiwi sorbet (made with 42Below kiwi-flavoured vodka from New Zealand) was refreshing and great with some summery daisy pink flowers (and yes they are edible). The waiters were professional and friendly. The place is a successful renovated project set in a stone house next to a church. The dining environment is cosy, homey but not pretentious. Don't miss it if you are at Galway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yuwei42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claregalway
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is one of the mostg popular Restaurant and Chef in Galway and the West of Ireland,
we went for lunch with my girlfriend and her mother, got a nice smoked salmon salad, a spinach and feta tart and a green asparagus salad.
The only downturn for us was a luck of atmosphere, and too little choice on the menu.
We also enjoy a nice homemade cake and coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very busy Saturday lunch time, we had to wait for about 10 mins for a table for 6, not a problem and worth it. Had a super lunch with friends, all ordered a different dish so that we could taste everything. Having been there before one of the group ordered some bread while we were waiting for our order to arrive, the waiter felt that it was unnecessary but reluctantly gave it to us (and charged €5 for it!). Apart from that, and the service been a bit chaotic, we cancelled the dessert order when we asked for the bill as they appeared to have forgotten, the waiter then said that there was a queue for the dessert...the girl at the counter with the desserts did not appear that busy (we were sitting opposite her). The service despite being haphazard was very pleasant, especially from the tall gentleman who semed to appreciate that we were good humoured about the mistakes and omissions!
The atmosphere was good, the decor fine, the food very good and in the end that is the most important part of a restaurant. Looking forward to going back, it is one of the nicer places to eat in Galway.
Oh, my review appears to reflect the general feeling of Kai...a bit all over the place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clonboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kai also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing