We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden in Dominick Street”
Review of Rouge

Rouge
Ranked #46 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: French food, wine bar (over 80 different types of French wines coming from small vineyards), cheese and cured meat platters, fresh local lobster, fish tank, open late every day. Food served until midnight Established in 2011,offer you French home style cuisine. Influenced by the rich culture we come from of food together with great wines. The idea here in Rouge is sharing.
County Meath, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Hidden in Dominick Street”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A friend recommended the menu here as good value. Booked it this time as it was full on Rag Week in Galway. Service a bit slow but meal/steak was satisfying. Wine overpriced but overall meal was good value. May try it again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    169
    55
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and great value”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Food was very tasty, however did not like starter. Would like to see a few more options on the menu. Great place to go and won't break the bank!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ted1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Ate here for daughters graduation. 7 of us in total including one vegetarion. Food was great as was the wine selection. Very French.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsPGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a really nice meal in Rouge in September. It was a Monday night and the place was very busy.
To start with the amuse-bouche was very tasty, lots of different flavours. I had steak with blue cheese sauce with gratin dauphinois. It was delicious. We had a shared desert. The wine list was very interesting. Our waiter helped us to pick a nice bottle of red.
There was also some live music that added to an excellent atmosphere.
Great food, excellent value

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Not won over”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Ok firstly I totally understand the concept of this restaurant and in recessionary times when people still want to go out for dinner and socialise I can accept why Rouge works so well. And the concept of dinner for 15euro DOES work because it is difficult to get a table here without a reservation even on a week night. Our starter was nice. Our steaks however were disappointing. My blue cheese sauce only tasted like white sauce. My medium rare steak was cooked too much and the meat was not succulent. The vegetables were nice. Because the restaurant is so busy it is actually a little noisy and therefore I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic night out. The staff struggle to understand English aswell. Overall I would rather pay a few extra euros somewhere else for better food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing