We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food in Ireland!”
Review of Venice Ristorante

Venice Ristorante
Ranked #34 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food in Ireland!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found this restaurant on our last night in Ireland. It was raining, but there was a man in the plaza wearing a sandwich board advertising the cafe and pointing out where it was. Normally, I'd avoid such a place, but decided to check it out. The restaurant was small (only 6-8 tables) but looked very authentic. I lived in Italy for a year, so am always looking for Italian restaurants with authentic cooking. I wasn't disappointed! Brought my husband back and had one of my best Italian meals outside of Italy! Wonderful brushetta and pasta, topped off with a a supurb tiramisu. Had a good wine that I'm looking for now that I'm back in the States. Great service and Andrea Boccelli playing in the background. Quite reasonably priced also.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JMB053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    128
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Happy we went!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We found this place on our walk back to the hotel and agreed we were in the mood for Italian after several terrible pub dinners in Ireland. I looked it up on tripadvisor before we went and the reviews were great so we figured we would give it a go and we were happy we went! We both had pizza, large portions, one was 10 euro and the other was 13 euro. We ordered side salads that never came but they didn't charge us and were we happy about it because we ended up not wanting them anyway. (I would have given 5 stars except for that small mistake) House wine was fine at 4.50 euro, service excellent and lovely ambiance. Definitely would recommend it! Bill was 30 euro total for two of us!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Touch of Italy in Galway”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This cafe is located down a side street off the pedestrian mall near the centre of Galway. We had no trouble finding it because there was a man in the plaza wearing a sandwich board advertising the cafe and pointing out where it was.

The cafe is only small. The food and wine were good as was the service. A nice place to have a pizza in Galway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The food was amazing. The pizzas arefab I would highly recommend this restaurant if ur looking for good value, good food and above all good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsilykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nice authentic and intimate Italian restaurant just off the main drag in Galway centre. Busy enough on a Thurs that we had to wait 15 mins at 8.30 for a table but worth it. Excellent Pizza and pasta. Dinner for two with bottle of wine about 50 euros.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venice Ristorante also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Venice Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing