We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...an experience”
Review of Aniar Restaurant

Aniar Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $71
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The food is based on our terroir, the ensemble of natural influences that give a food a sense of place. In the west of Ireland we are surrounded by lush ancient woodland, bountiful shorelines, thriving farmlands all heaving with some of the best ingredients in Europe but unique to us. Aniar obeys the seasons and lets nature decide our menu.Recently returned from Noma, the Danish restaurant, voted the World’s Best Restaurant 2011, Enda McEvoy heads the kitchen. He works closely with local producers while also gathering wild herbs, plants and seaweeds each day from the woodlands and seashore around the area to produce a cuisine based around light clean flavours.Light sauces and stocks, properly reared animals (utilizing all of the animal), sustainably caught fish with an eye to the future of the fishing industry and evolving with the seasons using vegetables, herbs, fruits and berries, either from the wild or cultivated, all encompass the Aniar philosophy. The Chefs pickle and brine as much as is bountiful during the spring and summer to see the restaurant through the winter. Enda explains “we use modern culinary techniques to obtain the best out of the ingredients, while never losing sight of the integrity of the produce”.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing...an experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ate here recently with my other half and really enjoyed the whole experience...which it is. My first time at a Michelin star restaurant. The food was a joy to look at and even better to eat! So so delicious. My only negative was the amuse bouche was a pigs ear (no thanks), but everything else made up for it. The raspberry and mascarpone dessert was perfection on a plate. Quite pricey, but we expected that and we worked our way through the entire menu. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clodagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    63
    40
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited Aniar restaurant for a meal with my husband; only good memories we have there from the food and the service. The taste of the food was heavenly good!!! The only reason i dont rate it with 5 is only that the music was too loud for our taste and made our communication with the waiters but this is only a small detail to what they offer!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Incredible food and fantastic service”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I came here with a group of friends in July and was hugely impressed by this restaurant. The food was original, inventive and above all- absolutely delicious! I would say it was probably in my top 5 meals of all time- it was that good!

On top of that, the staff were incredibly friendly and the general atmosphere was very pleasant.

For the quality of the food and the fact that it was Michelin starred, I thought it was also very reasonably priced.

I could not recommend this restaurant enough!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

On New years eve myself and my partner had a truly wonderful meal in aniar. The food is simply delicious and really pushing things to a new level in terms of inventiveness and flavours. The staf were superb and informative and although they seemed a little understaffed, they were so attentive when they were dealing with us it was no issue. Couldn't recommend a place more. I would particularly rave about the scallops with black pudding puree. oh yes!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dudley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice warm restaurant with friendly staff”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Was there last night for dinner. Nice warm restaurant with friendly staff. Music was too loud which made it difficult to hear the waiters explain the type of food we were eating. There was'nt enough choice on the menu (only 3 starters, mains and desert to pick from). Food was well presented and tasty but portion sizes were small. You wouldn't want to be starving going there. Priced a bit expensive for what was served up. There are better value restaurants in Galway to choose from e.g Park House. The seating arrangements are too tight also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VivianSilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aniar Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Aniar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing