We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.”
Review of Aniar Restaurant

Aniar Restaurant
Ranked #49 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $71
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The food is based on our terroir, the ensemble of natural influences that give a food a sense of place. In the west of Ireland we are surrounded by lush ancient woodland, bountiful shorelines, thriving farmlands all heaving with some of the best ingredients in Europe but unique to us. Aniar obeys the seasons and lets nature decide our menu.Recently returned from Noma, the Danish restaurant, voted the World’s Best Restaurant 2011, Enda McEvoy heads the kitchen. He works closely with local producers while also gathering wild herbs, plants and seaweeds each day from the woodlands and seashore around the area to produce a cuisine based around light clean flavours.Light sauces and stocks, properly reared animals (utilizing all of the animal), sustainably caught fish with an eye to the future of the fishing industry and evolving with the seasons using vegetables, herbs, fruits and berries, either from the wild or cultivated, all encompass the Aniar philosophy. The Chefs pickle and brine as much as is bountiful during the spring and summer to see the restaurant through the winter. Enda explains “we use modern culinary techniques to obtain the best out of the ingredients, while never losing sight of the integrity of the produce”.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This restaurant is on another level to most restaurants in Galway. While the food is on the expensive side, you are paying for a unique occasion. There are many restaurants in Galway that are expensive with mediocre food. This is not the case here. Locally sourced and foraged foods, presented and cooked imaginatively and creatively. An intimate setting, I could see our food being prepared in the kitchen, from my chair. The meticulous manner in which each plate is prepared is a reflection of the standard of gastronomical experience the staff and owners wish to provide. The waiting staff were friendly, efficient, and extremely knowledgeable about the food they were serving. Since my visit Aniar has become the first Galway restaurant to receive a Michelin Star. It is well-deserved.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronniedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    63
    39
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Confuse”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I went for dinner the week before the restaurant as been awarded with the michelin star the meal was very good the service average but overall a great night.But the following week when we learned that they received a Michelin star we were and still in choc . Aniar is a great restaurant but not a Michelin star for sure.Is Michelin under pressure !!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We reviewed this restaurant a few weeks before we went to Galway & were excited to eat here. We started with a selection of bread, then sweetbreads, girole, buttermilk with hen egg & scallops & black pudding which were both lovely. For mains we had the wild venison, apple, beetroot, hazelnut which was €32 (to be honest was a bit expensive for what it was) & the cod with kale. For dessert the waiter recommended the beetroot & rose parfait, hazelnut praline, sorrel, it was nice but i love my desserts & it wasnt as good as i imagined. We had a beautiful bottle of Argentina melbac with the meal followed by a couple of glasses of port. The meal came to €150 would was good. the restaurant received a michelin star 2 days before we ate there so our expectations were high but compaired to other michelin star restaurants we have eaten in like chapter one in dublin its not really up there in quality & service but overall still a great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent meal,beautifully presented.............a must.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

No wonder they have recieved a mIchelin star. From start to finish it was a wonderful experience.
The restaurant itself is a very informal,relaxing, cafe style which seats about 20-30 people. It was a Tuesday night and it was buzzing..... all tables were full.
The staff were so pleasant,informative and patiently explained all dishes and recommended wines to match food.
For starters we had scallops and ham hock,followed by wild cod and lamb and the goats milk pannacotta was truly delicious.
The food and presentation was truly superb.
Will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I had heard about "Aniar" recently having been awarded the coveted One Star Michelin and called from Dublin the day before to book a table for two. It's a good thing we did for the restaurant was filled to capacity.

The menu is limited and is entirely resourced locally. After two glasses of "bubbly" and a delicious "amuse bouche", we enjoyed the two appetizers consisting of scallops with black pudding and marinated vegetables respectively. The "mains" consisted of wild venison and lamb loin. Both, the appetizers and mains, were beautifully prepared and presented. The description on Aniar's website, which refers to such mundane ingredients as "black pudding, cauliflower, apple, beetroot, onions ", does not begin to describe what appeared in front of us. Everything looked wonderfully creative and innovative without being gimmicky. It also tasted incredibly fresh and delicious. We finished our dinner with a choice of Irish cheeses and a beetroot and rose parfait.

The wine list is not extensive but is expertly chosen and described. There was one minor hitch: the wine which we had selected was a 2006 vintage. The actual bottle that was opened was a 2010 vintage. When we drew this to the attention of the waiter, the problem was immediately addressed and rectified, which is what one would expect in a star-rated restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yawngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aniar Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Aniar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing