We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - Great staff and great food”
Review of High Cafe

High Cafe
Ranked #63 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money - Great staff and great food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went to this cafe for the first time last week, it is more of a restaurant than a cafe and I would highly recommend. They serve gluten free pasta which i find a huge plus, and the staff have been excellent each time i have been there. Food portions are very big, the mushroom and chicken pasta dish i got was excellent and would really have fed two people. Staff are friendly, location is great and its a byo as well. Have been 3 times in the last week

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    101
    26
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick and Uk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I like this place very much. The food is very tasty and good value for money. The staff are very nice and polite. You can take your own drink which keeps the bill down. The only thing is that it gets busy and is a bit cramped and warm at times, but otherwise very good....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LimerickandukAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Manna from heavens”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am always delightfully surprised by the taste and the portion of food. Simply awesome , although settings are not the best , food is. And it is HALAL

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibn_batuta_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“average fair”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After hearing good things about this restaurant we decided to give it a try, it was quite busy on a Saturday afternoon but the staff seemed slightly overwhelmed, the service was sufficient but it was nothing to leave a good impression. The food portions were big for the prices, which were quite reasonable, but the food itself was lacking seasoning and flavour. While it was not a bad experience there was nothing about it that would cause me to rush back in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herbivore23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in Galway”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff is very welcoming and food is very delicious. I went there for several time and the food quality is always at the top.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mallannius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cafe also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to High Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing