We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of High Cafe

High Cafe
Ranked #63 of 469 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have ate here a few times and have always tryed somthing different each time
and each thing I have ordered has always been really nice :)
The price that goes along witht he food is also very nice indeed :)
Well worth going here as there is a great selection on Menu to choose from
no beer to acompany my meal but i beleive you can bring your own which is handy too

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomStatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    101
    26
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“staff”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hi i life in Galway for many years so im a regular in some of the restaurants of the city and im sorry to write this review but i was shocked after trying to eat yesterday in High Cafe.
three of us we were there for lunch,it was around 4 o'clock and it were 3 free tables with 2 sits each and, the waitress ask how many people were we, i said 3, she just look around, spot the tables and just said,sorry there are not table for 3.I said to her , well maybe we can put together 2 tables, or maybe we can take one extra chair or maybe we can wait a bit until a 3 sits table will be free....i gave her all this options because i have been 8 years working as a waitress here in galway so i know how it can be.Anyway after all the options i gave her she just look surprise at me and repeat,there are not table for 3.Every body around realize of the situation,we decided to leave obviously
But not everything is bad, the food is different , tasty and nice, that's way we were disappointing to not eat there

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best resturant in Galway”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

atmostphere is good, staff friendly, accommodating to those on our group who has allergys, price is decent and food is great. maybe a little hard to find in the street, but we found it and have been back since, will come back to eat here when i am back in Ireland.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fifthfloor_ohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Love the food here! For something different from the usual sandwich lunch! You can enjoy fresh food from an extensive menu from snacks to big meals with delicious chips too! I am not vegetarian but I do love their veggie dishes! Wish I could get in to eat there more often!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ok but certainly not wow factor!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for food last week.. Mid week late afternoon/early evening. The service was polite but slow.
The food was ok. But that's About the height of it. Got the mixed skewers lamb, chicken etc... They were fine, side salad a bit lettucey! The chips were nice.

Was excited about going having read the previous positive comments and about the large portions cos i love my food!! I went with my girlfriend and we'd both be in good shape...the portions were average, not large...and certainly not American sized as one person said!?!

Overall this place was fine, very much middle if the road.I'm not sure we'll be rushing back and certainly not the kind of place you'd go on a date. Its more casual 'lunch with a friend' place.l

Also, a large portion of the menu was pizza and pasta...is this place Moroccan or Italian or both?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyG77Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Cafe also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to High Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing