We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for wine and nibbles”

McCambridge's of Galway
Ranked #65 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: McCambridge's is a local family deli and restaurant which specializes in the best of local Irish and international food, wine and spirits. Our coffee bar downstairs provides Italian style coffees, and a great selection of cakes and pastries. Our restaurant upstairs serves fresh seasonal food and is a really popular food destination in Galway. We also have a large sandwich counter for take-away sandwiches, and a self serve salad bar. A great selection of the finest food such as cheeses, sauces, seasonings, teas, chocolates, biscuits and drinks are available to purchase. McCambridge's hampers can be ordered any time on our website, in store or off our hamper table in store.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice for wine and nibbles”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Called into McCambridge's after visiting the winter market. We had already sampled various foods at the market so just ordered a bottle of wine and a meat & cheese platter. This came with a basket of delicious breads and was perfect with the wine. We had to wait for a table but didn't mind as we were given some salted almonds to nibble on whilst waiting. The staff are lovely, very friendly and efficient. Expect to wait for a table as this place is deservedly busy and has a great atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tessGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    114
    27
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, tea and cocktails - stayed for hours”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ventured in here for a late brunch and ended up staying for hours, sipping on tea after a a very good meal. Would return again. Friendly, attentive staff!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our lunch here today. Yummy Duck confit sausages with butternut squash mash and pickles cabbage. Delicious cream of vegetable soup with focaccia. Great service and lovely interior. Will be returning :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Triona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic every time”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

By far my favourite place for lunch in Galway City. Consistently good,fresh food at such a reasonable price. The staff are always friendly + make the experience even better. Lunch time is very busy and you will find yourself queuing at busy times but that says a lot about the quality here that people WILL queue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fancy-a-clancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fancy a meal smothered in great service...”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stopped here for a quick bite, ended up having an amazing sandwich and very very good coffee. On entry we had to wait for a table cause its a busy cafe, however after having a small meal I could see why. One of the waitresses bought us nuts and cake tasters whilst we waited for a table,which was a touch of them understanding keeping customers happy, we were not bothered to wait because of this. My sandwich was accompanied with a generous and tasty salad. They serve a variety of sandwiches, mine was simply delicious, and other quests I saw coming in from the kitchen where also very tasty looking. The staff had the best service I have had in a whilst. It was very personal, genuine service and made our meal time a nice experience! I would go back again when I am next in Galway.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank P5aula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCambridge's of Galway also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to McCambridge's of Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing