We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McCambridges Restaurant is relatively new.”

McCambridge's of Galway
Ranked #64 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Irish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: McCambridge's is a local family deli and restaurant which specializes in the best of local Irish and international food, wine and spirits. Our coffee bar downstairs provides Italian style coffees, and a great selection of cakes and pastries. Our restaurant upstairs serves fresh seasonal food and is a really popular food destination in Galway. We also have a large sandwich counter for take-away sandwiches, and a self serve salad bar. A great selection of the finest food such as cheeses, sauces, seasonings, teas, chocolates, biscuits and drinks are available to purchase. McCambridge's hampers can be ordered any time on our website, in store or off our hamper table in store.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“McCambridges Restaurant is relatively new.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having heard good reports of the new restaurant, upstairs at McCambridges, we decided to visit it for lunch. The place was busy, which may explain the poor service which we experienced (or perhaps they were short staffed on the day?). The food was good, but rather ordinary; my wife's pork dish was small and very fatty, which rendered it bad value. My meal was good.
Deserts were unimaginative and not great value. The atmosphere was well above average and the coffee was really good.

In fairness, I must say that the place was crowded and obviously very popular. It would appear that others did not share our generally poor opinion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    117
    28
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drumcar
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Over egg the pudding.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just left the cafe. Expected better. I ordered dessert came with over whipped scrambled egg cream. Sent it back 10mins later finished my coffee and dessert not back!! Really poor selection of good quality desserts, staff are friendly but busy so unattentive. Coffee is good quality. Suggest that you just use the coffee dock in the shop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrumcarTopchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed lunch. Food,service and surroundings were fantastic. I am looking forward to the cookbook. We need more of this sort of high standard eatery in Ireland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch in the heart of the city”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We visited McCambridge's on a busy Sunday afternoon. We were shown to a table without delay and the menu was varied and tempting. Service was prompt and friendly. Food was served without any real delay and was most enjoyable. A very tasty all day breakfast with fresh orange juice and toast. Top class and would most definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely, quality food and great staff”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a late brunch in Mc Cambridges. I chose the artisan breakfast which was delicious. Home made sausage and puddings complimented the bacon, poached eggs and potato earl with toast and tea, perfect. My friend had a vegetarian version with sweet potatoe chips and enjoyed it very much. Waitresses were very pleasant and quietly efficient. Looking down on to Shop Street in Galway is an extra bonus. The downstairs deli and cafe are also vety good. I will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabethireland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCambridge's of Galway also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to McCambridge's of Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing