We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCambridge's of Galway

McCambridge's of Galway
Ranked #66 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: McCambridge's is a local family deli and restaurant which specializes in the best of local Irish and international food, wine and spirits. Our coffee bar downstairs provides Italian style coffees, and a great selection of cakes and pastries. Our restaurant upstairs serves fresh seasonal food and is a really popular food destination in Galway. We also have a large sandwich counter for take-away sandwiches, and a self serve salad bar. A great selection of the finest food such as cheeses, sauces, seasonings, teas, chocolates, biscuits and drinks are available to purchase. McCambridge's hampers can be ordered any time on our website, in store or off our hamper table in store.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great spot in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great for a sandwich and coffee. Great range of cheeses and olives too - lovely variety.

Helpful?
Thank IrishBracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    110
    27
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“McCambridges is simply one of the best shops/coffee bars in Ireland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

I am full of admiration for McCambridges for the way they have rolled with the demands of changing times. Traditionally a lovely general grocery, wine shop and delicatessan, they have adapted beautifully developing a coffee bar which is one of the busiest in Galway, the tea and coffee is excellent with a great supply of scones and cakes also. Great value too. The sandwich bar is also excellent and the shop continues to sell all those things that are a little hard to find elsewhere, using suppliers of excellent produce.
At Christmas McCambridges really shines, it is truly a Christmas wonderland, check out the selection of biscuits, chocolates, wines, teas, baking ingredients and much more.
This shop is a great example of a traditional family business adapting to changes yet keeping the quality and traditions of the past.
Do try the Cafe Mocha, it is superb!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normamc, Manager at McCambridge's of Galway, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review! Its great that you like the changes we have made, while working hard on keeping our traditional feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in town and FAB sandwich bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

The atmosphere of a happening coffee shop along with great smells from the kitchen and a supply of anything you would need on a picnic make this the place to sit and watch locals stroll by. Mags will take care of you at the coffee bar and she will always have a smile and a cream for my coffee!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank USA2IEgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So much potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I liked the quality of the produce there, but sadly missed not being able to have full lunch there, served to you etc. I only had a cafe mocha with biscotti there and sat outside watching the people go by on Shop street. It is so entertaining to see every shape and colour walk by there, I even got myself a large coffee to make my vouyeristic afternoon last longer. What I regretted most was having to carry out my and my friend's coffee out on a tray, as if I too was working there.Seems like a missed opportunity for a shop on prime location. not to function as a proper cafe/bistro in the same way that Fallon& Byrne do in Dublin.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank EsmeraldaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normamc, General Manager at McCambridge's of Galway, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Hi Esmeralda
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the location and coffee. We have run a fine food deli and grocery shop for many years here, and introduced the coffee bar 2 years ago. The success of the coffee bar has been a real revelation to us. We are in the midst of planning an expansion of our food, coffee and wine offering. Please stay tuned for an exciting announcement next year. You can follow us on Facebook for regular updates.

Luke Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCambridge's of Galway also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to McCambridge's of Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing