We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful university in the heart of Galway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)

National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)
Book In Advance
More Info
$439.06*
and up
Private Guided Bicycle Tour of Galway City
Ranked #23 of 133 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful university in the heart of Galway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

NUIG (formerly known as UCG) is a beautiful campus to walk through, very safe, and there are gorgeous old buildings to view. However, the layout might be a bit confusing for visitors, so I would advise going to the quad and getting a map from the visitors office that is located there. Beware though: do not park illegally and make sure you pay for your parking at the meters. They taking clamping serious on campus and that comes with a hefty fine!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, NH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, buildings and flowers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Take a walk through the grounds on your way to or from downtown Galway and enjoy the beautiful buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjws2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Luck of the Irish was with me at festival!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was so lucky to be able to squeeze on the tour from Sew Many Places and The International Quilt Festival. I couldn't believe the gorgeous quilts on exhibit and the wonderful entertainment the organizers arranged. First rate first class all the way! I'm definitely going again next year. The Irish hospitality was amazing. Wicked fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

UCG, as I knew it back in the day is a great place to visit. Beautiful building and grounds. Nice river walks nearby. Historic building. Hoping my son might eventually become a student there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maura-Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“International Quilt Festival of Ireland 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My sister & I also visited the festival in 2012, it was badly organised but thought that they would learn from their mistakes so returned in June 2013. For us this was a 23 hr multi bus trip from the UK.
The University itself has a lovely campus and the quilts were scattered around the buildings. The sign-age was better and as this year it was sunny we were able walk slowly to each area.
The standard of quilts were very good but there was not the quantity. Some categories only having 3-4 entries.
This year they tried to add theatrics! This meant they had bored teenagers , dressed up sitting in the rooms. In theory is was ok but they didn't know about the quilts or bothered to talk to the visitors, more interested in their mobile phones.
On the plus side...the quilts that were displayed were very good. A walk to the Cathedral had a display of religious theme quilts which were well worth seeing and the Castle's exhibition was 'Under the Sea' had some amazing quilts on show.
Not as many trade stalls as last year and those we spoke to were unhappy due to the lack of visitors. Some said they would not return.
We paid for a 3 day pass and really could have seen it all in 1 day. Next year it is going to be moved to another part of Ireland. I wish him well but we will not attend again for the festival but I would return to Galway, a beautiful City.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG) also viewed

 

Been to National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing