We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit”
Review of Galway City Museum

Galway City Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.60*
and up
Historic Galway City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #11 of 136 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“visit”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

spent a lovely few hours in this hidden gem. I would recommend anyone to visit here as its well worth a visit. Maybe if this venue was nearer the city center or in a dated building it might attract a larger attendance. I still enjoyed my visit as I like the city of the tribes "Galway" and am happy to visit anytime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vinnie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    209
    80
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good introduction to Galway”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This museum shows varied bits of information about Galway. There is some info on the bottom about early history including some old coins we liked. On the top floor there is an area regarding the local dances and cinema with lots of old tickets, posters and a few old menus. There is also a theater area with a video about making of balls for sports. There is a nice viewing area by the river which points out the landmarks you can see from the window.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maryadvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slane, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

great way to spend a rainy hour or two. Lots of interesting things and a good guide makes a huge difference.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TSG1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must see for Galway”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

It was very interesting to see a bit of history and as it is free there is no reason not to go and a number of reasons it is a must see.

Very interesting walk through history and nice area as well along with the river.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New boring building”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place gives museum's a bad name, come on put some life into the place, it was raining and i called in as it was free, i should of just got wet outside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Showerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway City Museum also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing