We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A find for a wet day”
Review of Galway City Museum

Galway City Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.71*
and up
Historic Galway City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #11 of 135 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A find for a wet day”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent the whole morning here. We were interested in the British attempts to fix the "congested" lands and also to tempt the Irish to join the armed services in 1914. Everything is well displayed and the building is modern and accessible. Unfortunately, the cafe was crowded and we couldn't get a table.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    202
    80
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Free!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our guide brought us here in Galway so we took a look. It was free and nice and short. It gave us a bit of history on Galway and was perfect for the short visit to Galway

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not much depth”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A nice place to get out of the rain and learn some basic material about a few subjects. A tad of info on archeological findings (not much), a tad more about Ireland in wars, a wee bit about home improvement attempts by the government, and a display of someone's pottery collection.
Sound a bit scattered? It is.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Accidental find”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

On a rainy day my sister and I dropped into the museum to get out of the weather. We spent the next two hours being amazed by the different exhibits that were brilliantly displayed. The variety of the displays and the comfort of the building including a cafe and toilets made it a very interesting and relaxing afternoon. As there is no charge to go I can't think why anyone would miss this little hidden gem.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“intriguing”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

a bit of a surprise to me this as I spent many summers in Galway as a youth. This is a very nice museum not well advertised. not far from a great restaurant near the spanish arch called ard bia

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gefaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway City Museum also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing