We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant view of Atlantic life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galway Atlantaquaria

Galway Atlantaquaria
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.25*
and up
Historic Galway City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #18 of 133 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Galway Atlantaquaria, National Aquarium of Ireland seeks to present a comprehensive view of the world of water through clear and interesting displays, informed helpful staff and exciting live presentations and animal interaction sessions.This is achieved through accurately displaying aquatic life in a manner that reflects their natural habitats, providing an enjoyable and educational environment to learn about the diverse marine ecosystem of Ireland.As Ireland's largest aquarium we strive to ensure that a visit to the aquarium is original and full of wonder for visitors of all ages.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A brilliant view of Atlantic life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My daughter is fascinated by the animal kingdom and this was one of the highlights of her trip. The staff were all very helpful and she was able to get a close-up look at sea life she would never get to see at the aquariums near home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    148
    78
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The children loved feeding the fish, The tour was very good and we did enjoy it. how ever it is overpriced and doesnt give discounts for special needs children or carers.
paid 30 in for 2 adults and 2 children. wont be back.
prices are far too high for such a small attraction. if they were lower or if they did give discount i would have been tempted back.
we paid less into Dublin zoo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank galway_family2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantaquaria, Manager at Galway Atlantaquaria, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Many thanks for visiting and I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit.

On the price issue, we offer a discounted rate to carers of those with special needs. A carer goes free with each person with special needs.

Unfortunately we can't give refunds retrospectively but if you are thinking of coming back again just make sure to ask for the discount when purchasing your ticket.

Best wishes

kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay for a quick visit. Not up to the standards of Boston's offering.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped by the aquariam on an afternoon when we were just walking by the beach. It's kind of small and I thought a little expensive. The tanks are all small and the selection of fish was not really that expansive. If it's a rainy day (you are in Gallway so there's a real good chance for that happening) and you have some time then give it a try. I wouldn't go out of my way though. One good thing they offer is your ticket is good for return trips all day. I'm not sure you would find the need to go back as you can see the entire place in about forty-five minutes, but the offer is there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

really worth the money for two adults and a child aged 8 we paid 29euros. One member of staff fed the fish at three o clock but afterwards he had loads of time for all the kids who were there and took out crabs and starfish for them to hold, kids all seemed to have fun, plenty of space also to walk around if you had a child in buggy. Much better than the aquarium in Bray.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clonmel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“entertaining,yet educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Surprisingly entertaining visit to the aquarium, especially the exhibits from the locality. Staff are brilliant,and are prepared for questions about any of the fish or shellfish,taking great patience with visiting children . Lovely way to spend a wet afternoon !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank noel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Atlantaquaria also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway Atlantaquaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing