We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and fun”

Galway Atlantaquaria
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.32*
and up
Historic Galway City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #18 of 135 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Galway Atlantaquaria, National Aquarium of Ireland seeks to present a comprehensive view of the world of water through clear and interesting displays, informed helpful staff and exciting live presentations and animal interaction sessions.This is achieved through accurately displaying aquatic life in a manner that reflects their natural habitats, providing an enjoyable and educational environment to learn about the diverse marine ecosystem of Ireland.As Ireland's largest aquarium we strive to ensure that a visit to the aquarium is original and full of wonder for visitors of all ages.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Galway Atlantaquaria is a very good place to visit and its beside the sea! This is a great place to bring the kids and everyone else too i highly recommend this place!! (visited years ago not in 2012 like it says below)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ethancgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    149
    80
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Brought a group of children here on a rainy day. It was just ok. The place looks run down even though its opened only a couple years. Comparing it to the Aquarium in Chicago its on a completely different planet!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trish4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small But Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The aquarium is small and cramped, when it's busy it's hard to get around.

My kids had a good time though, they held starfish and rock crabs.

If the kids get a little squirrly there is a park right next door to he aquarium that you can let them run off some energy in. As long as you have your receipt you can enter and leave the aquarium as many times as you want to in a day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katealoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is well worth a visit, there is lots to see and the staff are great, they do tours and allow you to feed and handle the star fish and some of the smaller fish , great for the kids but also good fun for the adults

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wendymooney1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting but one hour stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I took my two young kids (both under 6). We enjoyed it but it was like 1 hour worth of fun... and we did spend time at the "exhibits." It is quite small - and perhaps over-priced... Again, we had a good time, but there were like 2 people working. They advertise the touch pools but I had to inquire and even then were were not allowed to touch all 3 of the ones advertised on their website. It was rather small - big fish, little fish, sting rays and the likes. If you need something to entertain children for 1 hour or so and don't blink at prices, I would recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Atlantaquaria also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway Atlantaquaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing