We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly beautiful on the inside”
Review of Galway Cathedral

Galway Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.63*
and up
Historic Galway City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #6 of 136 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprisingly beautiful on the inside”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were meandering around Galway our last day and decided to go into the cathedral, though it wasn't particularly appealing from the outside. We were glad we did. Very impressive interior, especially for a relatively new church (completed in mid-60s). Worth a stop.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank IlProfessore21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    724
    381
    109
    20
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“new and not interesting”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

do not think old European cathedral, think a relatively new build (was done in the 1970s I think) and whilst okay from the outside, nothing special. there are not many tourist attractions in Galway, you come for the vibe of the city, so you'll end up going here. don't expect much.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building in the Heart of the City!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Lovely building a short walk from the city centre. The cathedral is a magnificant building. It is divided into four sections and the alter in the centre is huge and can be seen from any angle in the church. The greem domed roof that catches your eye from afar outside is as eye catching inside - with windows flooding light in and beautiful paintings. Nice to see if you appreciate a nice building.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank comml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern cathedral”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Worth it to take a few minutes to look around inside.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank vince8663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Mass at the Galway Cathedral”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Beautiful old cathedral in downtown Galway. Reminded me of the Catholic Church I attended in my youth, only older.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galway Cathedral also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Galway Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing