We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B & B!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #49 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome B & B!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first B & B during our two week trip in Ireland and we were NOT disappointed. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, and the common room was more than just comfortable for spending time reading, and sending e-mails. Breakfast was a good start for a long day of sightseeing. Caroline and Larry were very helpful, Larry even took time to drive us to a resturant after a stressful day of driving on the other (wrong) side of the road. Coco was such a cute greeter, we enjoyed the entire visit and if the 3 of us find ourselves in the Galway area again, we will book the Kilbrack House for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krafty91384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buellton, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had great expectations coming to Kilbrack house, given the positive reviews. Unfortunately, our room was a joke, the full size bed filled it leaving a narrow space between the bed and wall on one side, no place to have a suit case open other than on the bed. The only furnishings outside of the bed were two marble topped night stands, they were crammed in on each side of the bed with the sharp corners of the tops hanging over the bed - ended up with a bruise. The second joke was the in-suit facility - it must have been quite a challenge to fit a toilet, sink and shower into what had been a reach in closet. Bathroom difficult to use with the door closed, no room between the door and sink - major hassle for a disabled person. Room was cold, heat was not working. Host was nice, good breakfast, interesting guests.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the size of the room you are getting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Salthill in a very quaint seaside town just outside of Galway City.
Kilbrick House was not walking distance, which I was led to believe it was.( and I walk daily).
The dining room and sitting room was beautifully decorated.
Our guest room and bathroom was of good size and clean.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful! The aromas from Caroline's kitchen were always tantalizing!!!
Host were nice....slightly less friendly than others, but turn over was high and Inn was full each night so maybe it was timing.
One draw back was rooms are not well insulated. You could hear conversation clearly from next room and one night snoring all night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
198 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our first B&B in Ireland and a great introduction to the country and its people. The family was warm and welcoming. The room was more than adequate for the three of us. The house and room were impecably clean. Very quite at night. The breakfast was well prepared and atmosphere very warm. I really felt at home here!

The location is a couple of miles north of Galway city center. It is perfectly situated on the road leading to the Connemara which is why we selected it. The B&B is located in a residential neighborhood just off the main highway. There is parking in front of the house as well as ample parking on the street. It is also located a short distance from gas stations and grocery shopping and other shopping necessitities as well as ATM access.

I cannot say enough kind words about the hosts. What wonderful people. They seem to take an interest in their guests and are a wealth of information about the area as well as tips on things to do. Only wish they were neighbors!

Room Tip: We spent all our time in the Connemara which was very much worth it... no regrets there. However, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights. We had a small room for 4 people. Apart from this the house, the furniture, the breakfast and the whole place were really superb, and I think the hostess lovableness (and his apparently reluctant husband) made the difference. Both very helpful with information about what to see and do. I want and expect this sort of interaction when staying in someone house, otherwise I'd stay in a hotel, wouldn't I?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca61Firenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had a great stay here - it's a bnb that is very beautifully decorated and has a really warm atmosphere. The rooms and facilities are great, breakfast is excellent and the hosts are pleasant and helpful. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

It isn't right in the city but the taxi in was only 13.50euros. We were happy here and the owners are very pleasant and helpful. They scrambled to get our room ready since our voucher said one thing and theirs another. No problem. Food was good in the morning and their directions and possible sites to see were very helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahL428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Bohola House
Bohola House
#38 of 197 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerville Bed & Breakfast
Summerville Bed & Breakfast
#100 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Claremount House
Claremount House
#20 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Kilbrack 2 Cappagh Road Woodfield | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbrack House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing