We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT NIGHT WITH TOP CLASS SERVICE”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“A GREAT NIGHT WITH TOP CLASS SERVICE”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

9 of us stayed in the Galway Bay Hotel on Saturday the 26th June. We each availed of the one night pampering offer, which includes dinner and a 30 minute pampering treatment. The treatment was fabulous and the salon was very well run and the salon even allowed us to change our appointment times on the day of arrival. The hotel was top class, the staff were lovely and very accommodating. The hotel organised cocktail lessons for us (on request) and also provided us with a complementary bottle of wine with the dinner. The dinner was superb. When we moved to town, we asked the hotel to organise a taxi for us and the taxi was outside the door within two minutes. The following morning, there was no pressure on us to vacate the room by noon and every time we went to the reception desk, the staff were exceptionally friendly. Overall it was a great experience and we would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Galway Bay Hotel. I have shared your review with all of the team here and all have asked me to pass on their gratitude to you. I have mentioned in previous trip advisor replies that I am extremely lucky to have such a wonderful team in the Galway Bay who are so focused and on delivering top class costumer service. You mention the bar staff and the cocktail demonstration – this is something we do for guests on a regular basis. A number of months ago, my bar staff requested that we offer this to guests and they love the idea of ‘showing off’ to guests – in fact each member of the bar team has their own signature cocktail and they have a friendly rivalry among themselves when it comes to selling their signature drinks. To read that your stay was a great experience is very gratifying to all here and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future. If returning please drop a line on dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I would love to say hello in person at some stage.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,004
    592
    268
    76
    44
See reviews for
844
1,039
107
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay, food was really good, friendly staff, and room was clean and spacious, with the beach across the road, and Galway city is no distance at all.
I love the conservatory to sit and read the paper or one can also sit outside, with a beartiful view. We'll be back again hopefully over next few months.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review of the Galway Bay Hotel. To read that your stay was ‘just perfect’ is particularly pleasing and all on the team here have asked me to say to you that you have ‘made their day’!! we hope you walked the prom when across at the beach and most importantly we hope you kicked the wall ant the end – this is a Galway tradition!! We all look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future and please do not hesitate to drop me a line on dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I would welcome to opportunity to say hello in person at some stage in the future.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed in the Galway Bay Hotel for a midweek break. I found the location brilliant, such easy access to the city. The restaurant staff were very accomodating, despite the restaurant being extremely busy on both the nights we dined,the staff had plenty time to spend with us, taking time to explain a very comprehensive menu, also taking the time for the small touches such as topping up our wine, it makes all the difference. Food was exceptional value, the quality fantasic. I know why it was so busy each night.
The bedrooms were clean, spacious and had a nice traditional feel to them, with the most comfortable beds I've slept in.
All in all I would rate the Galway Bay as one of the best hotels i've stayed in, the staff were brilliant, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haboybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
Dear Guest,

What a lovely review. Your very kind words are very much appreciated. I am delighted to see that you received the service which we are renowned for here in the Galway Bay Hotel. I receive vast amounts of feedback similar to this on a daily basis and I have to say that all on the team here make my job so much easier by providing this top class service. Your comment regarding the food being ‘exceptional’ has been passed on to Executive Chef Mr Ciaran Gantly and he passes on his sincere gratitude. I hope you tried one of our dishes from our exotic section on our menu (crocodile, kangaroo, wild boar etc) as these dishes are getting some superb feedback each night. I am delighted you mention that the bed was the most comfortable you have slept in – recently we have remodeled all guest bedrooms and as part of this project we invested considerable time and expense into sourcing the most comfortable bed in the marketplace – this was well worth the effort as the feedback I am receiving is quite phenomenal. Infact our numerous repeat guests have ‘nic’ named the bed the heavenly bed. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to drop me a line on dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I would love to opportunity to say hello in person at some point.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Having stayed at this hotel at New Year we knew we could expect quality and that is what we got, everyone goes out of their way to make your stay here perfect.
Nothing is too much trouble no matter what the query.
We were guests at a private party on Thursday last and I can only say the function room was set out well and the food brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyW1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this lovely review of the Galway Bay Hotel. I am delighted that you have had pleasant experiences on your visits here. I am also delighted to read your comments regarding the food quality and on the standard of service. I have passed your feedback on to the team here and all staff members have asked me to pass on their gratitude to you. Hopefully you will get the opportunity to visit us again in the future. If I can be of any assistance at any point please do not hesitate to drop me a line personally on dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I will be delighted to say hello in person at some stage in the future. Kindest regards, Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

4 Stars - I DON'T THINK SO !!.. Rooms are dirty; Service is very average; Food - hmmm - ok at best.... They are trading on their location (beside the promenade) - honest advice - go somewhere else until such time as they get their act together....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinionIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. Myself, and the team
here in the Galway Bay are extremely disappointed to learn of your
recent experience with us. I would like to apologize most sincerely and
I would like to assure you that this is definitely not the normal
standard of service we strive to offer any guest of the Galway Bay
Hotel. As you can see your experience is not consistent with the normal
feedback we receive on a daily basis. I would be delighted if you
would drop me a line personally so as we can discuss and God willing I will get
the opportunity to regain your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel at
some stage in the future. My personal e-mail address is
dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com Kindest regards, Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel June of 2010. Not only did we find it to be convenient in location(location, location,location!) We found the staff were quite willing to assist in anyway possible. The restaurant served wonderful food and the bar had good entertainment for after dinner.Our room was amazing as it had an unobstructed view of the bay in 2 directions. All in all we found this hotel and it's staff to be the best we've stayed at in our travels. Keep up the great work Dan and we look forward to staying at The Galway Bay Hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review of the Galway Bay Hotel. I have shared your views with all of the team here and all have requested that I pass on their gratitude to you. I do remember meeting with you in the hotel lobby prior to your departure and it is great to put ‘a face with the name.’ Your comment stating that our ‘staff were the best on your travels’ is very rewarding to read as we put large emphasis on a very structured in house training program with a primary focus on costumer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again at some stage in the future. Should you get the opportunity to return please do not hesitate to drop me a line on dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I will be delighted to take care of the detail and hopefully get the opportunity to meet again at some stage during your visit. Kindest regards, Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Do not be deceived by the rating - 4 stars, I would rate it a very poor 3. The bedrooms are an average size with dated style - there is NO fridge, no safe, not even an iron. Naturally there is also no air conditioning. We stayed for B&B, the breakfast was fine nothing spectacular. Staff were very nice so no complaints there.
The leisure centre is a joke - my son described the pool as a hole in the ground filled with water. Its a pleasant enough hotel but should have been at least €200 cheaper for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review of the Galway Bay Hotel. Needless to say, I am always extremely concerned when any guest leaves the hotel less than 100% happy. I would like to sincerely apologize for any shortcomings which you may have encountered during your stay with us and I would like to assure you that your comments are taken in the structured nature in which they are meant. I have shared your views with all of the team here and collectively we are all deeply disappointed as we do take feedback such as this very personally. It is our collective aim now to attempt to regain your confidence with the Galway Bay Hotel. I would be delighted if you would drop me a line at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com regarding your stay with us. Kindest regards, Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,416 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,825 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing