We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A four star stay at the Galway Bay Hotel”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A four star stay at the Galway Bay Hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My fiance and I are just back from a fantastic weekend in the Galway Bay Hotel. From start to finish we couldn't fault this place. Upon arrival we were met by Vincent, a most friendly young man on reception with a smile made for welcoming guests! He was so efficient and helpful, as were all the staff we encountered here. Not one member of staff passed us without a smile or a hello, and we were made feel like VIPs for the entirety of our stay. Trevor in the bar also deserves a mention, the banter was great and he answered all our queries on local information while we enjoyed a beer. I must say that before our visit we had noticed complaints on this site regarding the price of the hotel, however we really felt that we got value for our money in every aspect of our stay. When they say four star, that's exactly what we got. The room itself had a fabulous sea view, and if we left the window open we could even hear the sea lapping on the shore opposite the hotel. The bed was horribly comfortable; By that I mean that it was so comfortable that we found it difficult to get out of in the morning! The shower too, was so nice and powerful. The food in both the bar and the restaurant were top class and again, the waiting staff were impeccable. We really can't recommend this place highly enough, and really look forward to returning soon. Huge thanks to staff and management at the Galway Bay Hotel for a thoroughly enjoyable stay (Keeva and Sid, Drogheda).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear ‘Diva25’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this super feedback.

I am delighted to see that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us. Thank you very much indeed for your very kind praise of all aspects of the hotel. It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed such wonderful service, quality of food, comfort and personality whilst staying with us. Thank you also for mentioning Vincent and Trevor, they certainly are two super team members and I am proud to be associated with them.

To say that you cannot recommend us highly enough is certainly the highest of compliments and again I thank you. Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    586
    267
    76
    44
See reviews for
839
1,035
107
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The best things about the hotel were the service people, smiling and helpful, and the terrace -- a great place to enjoy the view of the bay. The room was ordinary but comfortable. The shower did not work at 7 am. When we were checking out, flushed the toilet and the shower came on. The breakfast was not exceptional, toast being served after we had finished our eggs. Nice for one night but I would shop around if I returned to Galway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyzol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear ‘judyzol’,

Thank you for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am happy to see that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome particularly regarding the people and their smiles and the service which you received. I receive approximately 250 pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis all commenting in the most positive way regarding the team here in the Galway Bay Hotel along with the excellent service, the excellent quality of food, the award winning breakfasts, the views and our super location along with the extremely comfortable bedrooms and the extremely comfortable public areas of the hotel. I will certainly investigate the issues you encountered.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel was in a nice location near the bay and within walking distance of several restaurants. The room was large and clean and staff was helpful. The breakfast selection was also good. The only downside was that the hotel was surrounded by tour buses and this led to lots of noise near our ground floor room and a very crowded lobby and common areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Cory,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you had a very nice time whilst staying with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome. This is very similar to the vast amounts of feedback which I receive on a daily and weekly basis and I will certainly ensure that this is passed on to all on the team via our structured customer feedback log. I do hope that you had the opportunity to take in a leisurely walk on the promenade on our doorstep – a super walk with beautiful views of the picturesque Clare Hills and the famous Galway Bay . This really is a favourite pastime of our numerous repeat guests. Your comment regarding the tour busses certainly does seem very unusual and I have not received a comment similar to this in the fifteen years that we are open.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed in the Galway Bay with three friends last weekend - a great weekend from start to finish despite the weather! The staff were so friendly and attentive and the food was absolutely gorgeous! Our rooms were spotless, with a great view over Galway Bay. Looking forward to visiting again just as soon as I can. Thanks for brilliant service! Oh - and if you are visting, I'd recommend the chowder and the braised beef - both are fantastic!!!!

Room Tip: We had room 116 - nice view of the diving platform on Galway Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislingF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Aishling

Thank you for this super feedback and thank you sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel last weekend. I am delighted that you had such a nice time.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and to say that the staff were so friendly and attentive and the quality of food was absolutely gorgeous is the ultimate compliment to all on the team. You are quite correct referring to the views as they certainly are fantastic – overlooking the beautiful Clare Hills and the famous Galway Bay – I hope you had a chance to take in a walk on the promenade??

Looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back again and we will organise great weather on your next visit!!

Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here recently and we'll definitely return. Really enjoyed the atmosphere and the quality of service was excellent. It's a really beautiful location overlooking the famous Galway Bay. The food and service were top marks and we were both blown away by the friendliness of the staff, particularly, manager Patricia who made us feel so welcome and looked after us so well. We've been telling our friends to get to Galway and stay here. Thanks for a great break!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Joan,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant time with us.

To say that you were blown away by the pleasantness of all on the team is the ultimate compliment to us all. Patricia Mannion is thrilled to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and passes on her sincere regards to you.

We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We got married on the 16th nov 2012 last in the Galway Bay hotel and I have to say that we couldn't have picked a better place to have it.
The views of the bay are a great backdrop and the hotel itself is a really great venue to have a reception.From the first day we went to inquire about the venue to the mornin we checked out,there was nothing they wouldn't do for us,just small things mostly but that's the kinda stuff that makes the difference !
Numerous times I was on the phone to one of the managers (many thanks Sergei!) late at night checking things -even changing things- right up till the night before the big day!
The suite we got married in was perfect for the numbers we had at our wedding,just right size not too big or small and because no one was too spread out,everyone had a great night.

The room was top drawer too ,but it was the bridal suite so you wouldn't expect anything less from a flagship room in a
All in all we could not fault a thing and most things exceeded our expectations.
If your thinking about a wedding venue,make sure you check it out ,you will definitely not be disappointed -we weren't!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmetcurneen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The view is amazing looking straight out at Galway Bay. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bathroom is roomy. The food is delicious and well worth trying. The location is great away from te city but close if you wish to stroll in? It is a lovely walk. The staff are very friendly well worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Enda,

Thank you most sincerely for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel on your recently trip to Galway . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and I will see that this is passed on to all on the team through our comprehensive guest feedback log. Your comments are a replica of the numerous amounts of which I receive on a weekly basis from the numerous return and regular visitors to the Galway Bay Hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,823 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing