We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Dream Vacation!"”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Galway Bay Hotel several times and it is our favorite place to visit. The hotel itself is beautiful, there is a beautiful balcony to enjoy the view of Galway Bay, there are comfortable couches in the sunroom, sitting room and lobby and we were very pleased with the food at the restaurant, pub and cafe. I love the breakfast buffet! I found the staff at the hotel to be extremly helpfull, friendly and kind and they work very hard to make your stay there enjoyable. Between the Trad on the Prom show, the beautiful weather, and the warm welcome we received this was a dream vacation. Thank you to everyone, we hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear ‘Kerry2010NewJersey’,

Thank you most sincerely for returning to the Galway Bay Hotel on your holiday again this year and thank you also for this super feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

You positive feedback is most welcome and also very encouraging. All on the team would like to pass on their sincere gratitude to you. We are delighted to see that you had time to enjoy the stunning views from our sea view balc on y, our sea view c on servatories and sea view lounges – there is no better way to relax than to sit and watch the world go by in on e of these areas. Of course, you were looking out on on e of the most beautiful views in the world as we overlook the beautiful Clare Hills and the famous Galway Bay . Hopefuly, you had the opportunity to ‘watch the sun go down on Galway Bay ’ as the old and famous s on g goes. I am delighted that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly, they really are super and we receive feedback similar to this c on sistently for guests. Your feedback regarding the quality of food at both breakfast and dinner is also most welcome and again this is similar to the daily feedback received. Trad on the Prom certainly is a fantastic show running every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings from May through to September – it is great that you got to see it. The show and dinner packages are very popular and great value.

Thank you again on behalf of all on the tem and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again so on .

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,203)
There are newer reviews for Galway Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,179 - 2,185 of 3,203 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

From the minute we arrived I found the staff friendly and welcoming. We had a wonderful room facing the sea and I couldn't fault anything in the room. Everything we needed was supplied in the room - hairdryer, slippers, bath robe, trouser press/iron, toiletries, tea coffee biscuits. The room was very comfortable and was cleaned each day to a high standard. Breakfast was included in the room rate with Dinner on 2 evenings. Breakfast was a buffet style and hot breakfast was also available. A wide choice available each morning. The freshly baked croissants were a real treat. The dinner menu each evening was a hard choice because everything sounded delicious. The dinners we got were absolutely fantastic. Food was fresh and well presented and the staff were informative and attentive. A very nice choice of wines to compliment our meals was also available. Overall our stay was so good we didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back again. Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Look for a room on 1st or 2nd floor, centre of Hotel and facing the sea. Very quite away from car p...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MolCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear ‘MolCork’,

Thank you for this fantastic feedback and thank you also most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. all on the team are delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and also extremely rewarding to all on the team. I use feedback such as this to help me when it comes to motivating the team to perform to the highest level consistently and I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team who are so focused on doing so. I am also delighted that you found the bedroom to be very comfortable and also to a very high standard, this is feedback which I consistently receive for hotel guests. Also, you found the quality of food to be absolutely fantastic and the culinary team pass on their gratitude to you – they are also delighted as they consistently receive this comment from guests of our food outlets.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just back from a hen weekend in Galway. We couldn't fault our experience. From the minute we arrived we were given a great welcome e.g. hen survival kit in the room, despite being busy with weddings on both days!! A big thank you to all the staff in the Galway Bay Hotel, particularly John, Paul óg and the dining room crew who showed great hospitality and patience to our large group at all times! They couldn't do enough. Go raibh míle maith agaibh!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 570Regina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear ‘570Regina’,

Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel for your recent ‘hen’ weekend in Galway . We are really happy you chose us and are really delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

Your positive feedback is most encouraging. A special occasion for you is most definitely a very special occasion for us and all on the team really enjoy making special occasions even more special by providing the little extra’s to mark the special occasion. We are delighted that all on the team showed great hospitality to you and John and Paul Og pass on their regards as they are ‘chuffed’ to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and until then slan go phoil.

Regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took the package deal at this hotel and received our room, dinner, Trad on the Prom show tickets, and a full breakfast buffet the next morning. It was fantastic! Anyone who wants so see a traditional Irish show, complete with music, song, dance and some history too, should make this a stop on your vacation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear ‘thetravelbugz’,

Thank you very much for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us.

I am also delighted to see that you were able to avail of the ‘Trad on the Prom’ show, accommodation and dinner package – this is proving extremely popular as it is super value.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

it was a very nice place we had drinks in the pub which the staff was really nice and friendly and there was a guy playing music he was really good well worth going in to have a look you couldnt find a nicer place

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Rachel,

Thank you sincerely for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway .

To say that you couldn’t find a nicer place is a real compliment to us all here in the hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our An Scadan Caoch bar – a traditional Irish themed bar with Irish music, memorabilia and bric a brac throughout to create the traditional look and feel. Like your good self many other guests comment on this in an extremely complimentary way daily.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to us again at some stage.

Best regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was such a beautiful hotel especially as we arrived near sunset to see the "Trad on the Prom" show. It was a gorgeous setting, very nicely decorated & I wished I could've stayed a few nights there.

Room Tip: Great irish Band & Dancers!!
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Laura881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Laura,
Thank you most sincerely for visiting the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you had such a nice time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and I have to say it is a replica of the vast amounts of feedback which I receive throughout each day and week. I am delighted that you had the opportunity to attend the ‘Trad on the Prom’ show – a celebration of Irish song and dance - it certainly is receiving superb reviews following on from each performance.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of you staying with us on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Last time I was away I stayed in a 5 star hotel and I think Galway bay is wayyy better if I get to come back it's where in going you need not mention another hotel to me !! Number 1 location fab ... The prom wow lovely walk ....clean comphy staff very helpful good car park bus stop right outside your only a short car drive from the galwsy city lovely reception area breakfast all u can ask for and want. dinner in the lobster pot restaurant is lovely and quick service even though it was busy on both nights. The room was comphy and clean right it's not real real modern but everything works staff are friendly as are other guests in the hotel ! I'll miss this place and hope I can return one day I personally love the area of salthill and the hotel and I'll have great memories x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggiedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear ‘doggiedayz’,

Thank you for this magnificent feedback and thank you also most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your brief time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding our clean comfortable hotel, the very helpful staff, the quality of food and service you received and the quality of the bedroom is greatly appreciated and most encouraging. This is similar to the feedback which I receive on a daily basis from hotel guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel overlooking the famous Galway Bay and also the beautiful Clare Hills, I am also delighted that you had an opportunity to take a walk on the promenade right on our doorstep.

Thank you again most sincerely and we all look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,563 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $120 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing