We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a VIP”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like a VIP”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the minute we walked into this hotel, I felt like we were someone special. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the bay, and what a view! We ate in the Lobster restaurant on our first night. The food was delicious and the service great. I really could not fault a thing. I'm pregnant and had an ice cream craving(surprise, surprise) so we ordered room service the next night, and even though the kitchen was officially closed, they obliged me. Its the above and beyond hospitality that makes this hotel great. I used the leisure center on our first day and the lady their (Anna, I think) gave me some great tips on stretching for pregnancy in the pool. I am leaving there knowing I will be back and I will highly recommend it to all my family and friends. Thank you to Dan and your wonderful team!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gris1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ‘Gris106’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway. Thank you also for this super review. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the friendly and helpful team giving excellent service, our location with the super view of the bay, the delicious food and great service in our Lobster Pot Restaurant and the above and beyond hospitality is most rewarding to all on the team. I use feedback such as yours to aid me when it comes to motivating and encouraging the team to perform to the highest level and I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team who are so passionate and driven to deliver top class service consistently. Anna is thrilled to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and passes on a heartfelt thank you – you have made her day!

Thank you for recommending us to all and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel at some stage in the future.

Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,043
    606
    279
    78
    44
See reviews for
873
1,067
108
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Galway Bay on Saturday night 5th Jan. We were given a lovely room and had an excellent stay from start to finish. The staff were very professional and breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, we didn't get to the restaurant for dinner this time around but based on our previous experience it is excellent. We're both looking forward to a return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farraway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ‘Farraway1’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway and thank you also for this super review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the very professional staff, the excellent breakfast and the lovely bedroom is most welcome. Stating that it was an excellent stay from start to finish is most rewarding to all on the team. I am delighted that you have enjoyed dinner in our Lobster Pot Restaurant in the past and it is a shame that you did not have the pleasure of dining there on this occasion. The feedback I am receiving regarding the food quality and the standard of service is consistently fantastic and there is great credit due to Executive Chef Gavin and his team and indeed to Restaurant Manager Paul and his team – they are all super and all so focused and motivated when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently – they do certainly make my job so much easier!!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me. The surroundings were beautiful and the food was excellent. I would recommend it to anybody. I had a wonderful relaxing time. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommoandJako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ‘TommoandJako’,

Thank you for this super feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us.

Your positive feedback is most rewarding to all on the team and all have requested that I pass on to you a sincere thank you. All are delighted that you had a wonderfully relaxing time.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited the restaurant in the Galway Bay Hotel on New Years Eve and I cannot compliment the food and staff enough.

The menu available has a great variety and is great value. I would recommend the fish for main course. I could not fault the food in any way, it was beautifully presented and tasted gorgeous.

We were served by Marcela who was so welcoming and friendly. The Restaurant Manager Brian came down to welcome us and was very attentive to all our needs.

I would highly recommend a trip to the Lobster Pot, perfect for a special occasion or if you just want gorgeous food and a bit of pampering, you will find it all here.

It is very reasonably priced for the food you are getting and we have paid alot more for terrible food.

I will be going back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ‘Katg7’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to eat in our Lobster Pot Restaurant recently and thank you also for his excellent feedback. I am delighted to see that you had such a lovely time. It will give me great pleasure to review this feedback with both the culinary brigade and the Restaurant service team.

I am delighted that you found our menu to have great value and have great variety and that the food was beautifully presented and tasted gorgeous. Thankfully our Lobster Pot Restaurant is consistently very busy, serving 262 people on the night you dined and on examining our guest feedback log I can see that all of the other feedback received is a replica of yours. In fact, the feedback is consistently similar to your feedback.

Thank you for mentioning Marcella and Brian personally. They are thrilled to have been mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium; you have made their day and I am so lucky to have wonderful people here in the Galway Bay Hotel who are so focused and passionate when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently. They certainly do make my job so much easier!

Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Lobster Pot soon.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here straight after Christmas for three lovely nights. Location was excellent and hotel was beautiful. Rooms spotless. Beautiful views. Very relaxing stay. Ate in both restaurant and bar and food was fantastic.Great selection for breakfast. Room service also very efficient. Enjoyed a treatment in their very well priced salon. Only downside was the leisure centre. Would have enjoyed a jacuzzi if available. Pool extremely small, bit disappointed but everything else was great. Would recommend, very well located for touring the West of Ireland. Would def stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Tracey C,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your brief time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the beautiful hotel, excellent location with beautiful views, spotless bedrooms and fantastic food quality is most rewarding. All of the team have requested that I pass on to you a heartfelt thank you. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful; food was quite tasty. Nice pub located in hotel. Rooms clean. Beautiful view overlooking Galway Bay. Favored place for small conventions, retirees, youth groups. Convenient to town and bus line. One afternoon had a wine tasting in lobby; another, tea. I would stay there again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnfromLynchburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Ann,

Thank you for this super feedback and thank you also most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your feedback is most welcome and is very similar of the hundreds of other feedback I receive from guests on a weekly basis. Hopefully, you will have the opportunity to return to Galway at some point in the future and if so, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Galway Bay Hotel.

Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went there on January 1st for 2 nights. Staff very friendly. Food beautiful . Hotel very clean. Very relaxing . Lovely walks on sea front. Very reasonable priced. We hope to return later this year. The restaurant , the Lobster Pot was fantastic.

Room Tip: When booking ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd1462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear ‘Edd1462’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway and thank you also for this super feedback. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant time with us.

I receive approximately 250 pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis which is uploaded onto a very comprehensive guest feedback log and I have to say that the overwhelming majority is a replica of your feedback.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,463 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,682 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,885 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,899 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing